Defences, Thesis Proposals, and Ph.D. Candidacy Exams

MSc Thesis Proposals, PhD Candidacy exams & Thesis defences for both M.Sc. & Ph.D. degrees occur throughout the year, and are open to the general public.  If you'd like to attend any of the "Online" events, please contact the EASC Graduate Secretary (eascgsec@sfu.ca) for information on how to join.

Thesis defences

Mon., April 20, 2020
10:00 am Online Defence

Teresa Rosales Ramirez

“Modelling Wastewater Spills and Mapping Areas Most Vulnerable to Groundwater Quality Deterioration in Northeast British Columbia”

Fri., April 17, 2020
10:30 am Online Defence

Anastasia Ogloff

“The Murray dyke swarm and its bearing on Cretaceous magmatism and tectonics in the Canadian Cordillera”

Wed., April 8, 2020
9:30 am Online Defence

Miranda Walters

"Integrated Ichnological, Sedimentological, and Geochemical Analysis of the Late Cretaceous Upper Nanaimo Group, Saltspring Island, B.C., Canada"

Wed., March 18, 2020
9:00 am in LIB 2020

Nakari Diaz

"Sequence Stratigraphy and Facies Analysis of the Viking Formation in Crossfield and Adjacent Areas, Alberta, Canada"

Ph.D. Candidacy Exams

Fri., July 24, 2020
10:00 am Online

William McKenzie

“Unravelling the tectonic evolution of the enigmatic Jura-Cretaceous basins of the Northern Cordillera”

M.Sc. thesis proposals

Mon., July 6, 2020
10:00 am Online

Adam Mitton

“An Ecological Assessment of Aquifer-Stream Connectivity”

Mon., June 29, 2020
10:00 am Online

Crey Ackerson

“Surficial Geology and Quaternary History of the Southwest Kluane Lake Region”

Mon., June 22, 2020
9:00 am Online

Rebecca Canam

“Paleoproterozoic structural evolution of the Western Margin of the South Rae Craton, Northwest Territories”

Wed., June 17, 2020
9:00 am Online

Tryggvi Unnsteinsson

“Glaciological controls on fumarole emergence”

Fri., June 12, 2020
10:00 am Online

Sarah Bowie

"P–T conditions and timing of high-grade metamorphism and deformation in the Shuswap Metamorphic Complex, British Columbia"

Thurs., June 4, 2020
9:00 am Online

Giovanni Corti

"Optimizing High-Resolution Speckle Tracking for Glacier Motion"