Herbert G. Grubel Award

The Herbert G. Grubel Award is given to the graduating MA student with the highest cumulative grade point average (CGPA) obtained in the MA required courses during the preceding Fall and Spring terms. This award is named after Herbert Grubel, emeritus professor at Simon Fraser University and Senior Fellow at The Fraser Institute.

2018 winner

Xiangyu (Anthony) Zhang

"When I was in high school, physics was always my favorite subject since it can explain almost everything in the nature world around us. Later, I got to know economics. It turns out that almost everything in our social life can be theorized or modeled in economics! And the uncertainty in economics makes it even more charming! Here at SFU, I studied as a master student in Economics. With brilliant and supportive professors as well as smart and diligent classmates, this economics MA program brought me a lot. And I am grateful to this wonderful experience!"

Past winners

2017: Ling Zhou

2016: Katherine Ryan

2015: Zijian Wang

2014: Meiyu Li

2013: Johannes Strobel

2012: Jing Wang

2011: Qianzheng Wang

2010: Meijie Jin