Cliff Lloyd Memorial Award

The Cliff Lloyd Memorial Award recognizes the graduating economics honours student with the highest cumulative grade point average (CGPA).

2020 winner

Hamza Abdelrahman

Hamza Abdelrahman is celebrating the completion of his honours bachelor of arts degree in economics after four years filled with high academic achievements and community engagement. Since joining SFU in 2016 as a Major Entrance Scholarship recipient, he has completed three co-op work terms and volunteered with multiple groups on campus. He has received a number of awards, including the Glenn Berg Award for academic excellence in economics; the Big Data Research Award; the NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award; and the Robert C. Brown Award for outstanding leadership and academic performance. For his honours thesis, Hamza looked at the causal effect of the disbursement of social assistance payments on drug crimes and alcohol sales in Vancouver, BC. He plans on completing graduate studies in economics and has set his career sights on becoming the prime minister of his home country, Jordan.

Past winners

2019: Rhys M. Godin 

2018: Sean Lee

2017: Camila Cordoba Cardenas, Investment Banking Intern, Banca de Inversion Bancolombia

2016: Andreas Qvale Hovland, Analyst, Accenture

2015: Caleb Kwon, PhD student, Harvard University

2014: Dave MacDonald

2013: Erik Drysdale, Data Scientist, SickKids Foundation (Goldenberg Lab)

2012: Justin Wiltshire, PhD student and Graduate Student Researcher, University of California, Davis

2010: Sam Norris, Assistant Professor, University of Chicago

2010: Hilary Furness

2009: Saravie Brewer, Project and Process Improvement Manager, Supply Chain at Arc'teryx Equipment

2008: Jedrzej Zieleniak