Faculty-Departmental Criteria for Contract Renewal, Tenure & Promotion

Each department, school and non-departmentalized faculty or area within a non-departmentalized faculty will draw up and have adopted by the tenure-stream faculty in the department sets of criteria, standards and methods of assessment for tenure and for promotion that will be reviewed and either reaffirmed or revised no less than every three years. These departmental criteria must be approved by the Dean, copied to the Vice-President, Academic (by way of Faculty Relations) and the Association, and must be consistent with the general University requirements for tenure and promotion contained in this Agreement.

While the Chair/Director of a Department/School/Program is generally the TPC Chair, in non-departmentalized Faculties, the TPC Chair is elected.

Beedie School of Business | Chris Zatzick | to April 30, 2021 
(Admin support provided by Administrative Coordinator, Patricia Wong)

Faculty of Education | Jeff Sugarman | to March 31, 2021
(Admin support provided by Secretary, Faculty Tenure & Promotion Committee, Amy Yang)

Faculty of Health Sciences | Jeremy Snyder | to April 30, 2022
(Admin support provided by Secretary to the Dean, Doreen Nicholls)


Applied Sciences

Arts and Social Sciences

Beedie School of Business

Communication, Art and Technology



Health Sciences



Contact the Faculty Relations Advisor handling inquiries for your Faculty.