Major Award Recipients

Convocation Medal Recipients

  • June 01, 2023

    June 01, 2023

    Dr. Dennis Yu Liu completed his PhD in the Department of Chemistry where he developed an assay to study vulnerabilities unique to drug-resistant bacteria and discovered new bioactive compounds that specifically target these bacteria and can act in combination with major antibiotics to suppress the emergence of drug resistance.

  • June 01, 2023

    June 01, 2023

    Dr. Miranda Louwerse completed her PhD in the Department of Chemistry where her research resulted in her creating a novel theory that provides a quantitative perspective on the concept of the “reaction coordinate” that is central to chemical reaction theory.

  • June 01, 2023

    June 01, 2023

    Dr. Natalie Kinloch completed her PhD in the Faculty of Health Sciences where her work in understanding HIV genetic diversity led to improvements for a gold-standard test for measuring HIV in infected individuals.

Vanier & Banting Recipients

  • July 05, 2023

    July 05, 2023

    Dana Graham Lai is a PhD student in the Department of English using interdisciplinary methods of literary criticism applied to eighteenth and nineteenth-century Scottish women’s writing. (SSHRC-CGS doctoral award, David and Mary Macaree Graduate Fellowship)

  • July 19, 2021

    July 19, 2021

    Dr. Meanwell completed his Department of Chemistry PhD from the Faculty of Science. (NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowship & Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship)

  • April 23, 2021

    April 23, 2021

    Jason is a Social Psychology PhD student researching human social cognition and emotions and helping to develop community prosociality programs. (Community Engaged Research Initiative Graduate Research Fellowship, Graduate Dean Entrance Scholarship at SDFU, SSHRC Canada Graduate Scholarship - Master's, & Arthur and Ancie Fouks Graduate Entrance Award in Public Service)

Trudeau Scholarship Recipients