Storage Space

Mailbox Quota

All SFU Connect users are given a quota of 5 GB. Your mail (all folders, including inbox), contacts, and briefcase files are all a part of this shared space.

Located near the upper right corner of the window, just under your name, is a bar representing your account quota. The amount you have used is indicated as the coloured portion of the bar. Hovering your mouse over the bar will display numeric values of your quota and usage.

If You Are Reaching Your Quota

SFU Employees, Retirees, and Sponsored Accounts

As of June 2012, if you have reached or exceeded 88% of your quota, you will normally receive a notification message indicating that your quota has been automatically increased. If you receive the quota warning message (as described below), your quota will be automatically increased within 24 hours. No action is required on your part. Should you have any questions, contact your department's technical support staff or use the IT Services Help Form.

SFU Students

As you approach the 90th percentile of your quota, you will receive a quota warning message. When you reach your maximum storage limit, you will no longer be able to send or receive email. The quota warning message will contain the following instructions:

You may back up some of your messages and attachments by downloading and saving them locally on your computer, then delete them from your SFU Connect account (be sure to delete them from your Trash folder).  For assistance on backing up or moving your messages and attachments, please use the IT Services Help Form.

Beware of phishing scams!  Some phishing scams may appear to be warning you that your account will be disabled, and will ask you to "verify" your password. SFU will never ask you to confirm your password. Never enter your SFU Computing ID or password on a site you don't trust. To learn more about phishing and how you can protect yourself, see About Phishing Scams.

If you are unsure whether a quota warning or notification message is legitimate, you may also contact your department's technical support staff, or use the IT Services Help Form.

Methods of Recovering Storage

Delete Attachments

To delete an attachment from a message, click on the 'Remove' link that appears beside the attachment when viewing the message. Deleting an attachment is permanent and is not recommended unless you are absolutely certain that you no longer require the file; it cannot be retrieved after you have removed it. If you are a staff or faculty member, please contact your departmental computer support staff regarding a quota increase.

Trash Folder

There is no setting to control how often your Trash folder is emptied in SFU Connect. The retention time for items in the Trash is 365 days. This is based on when the message was placed into the Trash folder.

If you want to remove messages from the Trash immediately, it is best to delete only those specific messages from the Trash folder. The Trash folder in SFU Connect acts as a safeguard for accidental deletion of messages. If a message was deleted by mistake and has not been emptied from your trash folder, simply move the message out of your Trash folder by dragging it to "Inbox" or another folder as you wish.

Emptying the entire Trash folder is highly discouraged. After messages are emptied from the Trash folder, they can only be retrieved within a period of 30 days.  See Recovering Deleted Messages for more information.