The Contacts module allows you to save contacts and contact groups, and also keeps track of email addressed to which you've sent email.

Find out more about maillists vs. contact groups, and how autocomplete works.

 

Contacts and Autocomplete

By default, when typing an email address in the To, CC, or Bcc fields, SFU Connect will automatically display a list of contacts from your personal contacts and Global Address List (GAL) entries that match what you are typing.  This is referred to as 'autocomplete'. You may then select the appropriate email address from the list of results.

Autocomplete entries from your Contacts are ranked based on how often you send to them.  For instance, if you often send messages to "ebronte@sfu.ca" instead of "emily_bronte@sfu.ca", then "ebronte@sfu.ca" will appear higher in the list.

Only one autocomplete result will display for a single email address.  For instance, if you already have "kipling@sfu.ca" stored in your Contacts (also includes Emailed Contacts), the entry from your Contacts will appear, and the Global Address List entry will not appear.

Read more on the Global Address List (GAL).

"Forget" link

For personal contacts that appear in the autocomplete results, there is a "Forget" link that appears beside it.  Clicking on this link will place this link lower down in the autocomplete results.  This will not remove the contact entry from your personal contacts.  The "Forget" link will not appear beside Global Address List entries.

Removing Incorrect Email Addresses from Contacts

By default, every email address you've sent an email to will be saved under "Emailed Contacts" in your personal contacts, regardless of whether it was correct or incorrrect.

To remove an incorrect email address from your "Emailed Contacts" folder (or any other Contacts folder) so that it no longer appears in autocomplete, do the following:

  1. Go to the Contacts tab
  2. Search for the incorrect email address using the search bar at the top of the page
  3. Move the incorrect contact into the Trash folder
  4. Delete it from the Trash folder