Systems Folders: Inbox, Sent, Junk, Trash
SFU connect offers a range of basic functions. Click on composing messages, receiving message, systems folder, using trash and SFU directory search on the right for more information and step-by-step instructions.
Mail System Folders
Mail system folders are special folders in SFU Connect that appear in all accounts. The mail system folders are Inbox, Sent, Drafts, Junk, and Trash.
You cannot move, rename, or delete these folders. System folders are always displayed at the top of your folder list, followed by any folders you create.
If you hover the cursor over a folder, the number messages in the folder and the size of the folder are displayed. If you have any new unread messages in a folder, the folder name will appear bold with the number of messages will appear beside it. (For example, Inbox (3) )
New email messages arrive in the Inbox. By default, the contents of your Inbox is displayed when you log into SFU Connect.
A copy of each message you send is saved in the Sent folder.
Messages that you have composed but have not yet sent can be saved in the Drafts folder. If you open a message in the Drafts folder, it opens in the Compose view. As you are composing, the system automatically saves draft copies of your message every minute or so. You can manually save a draft by clicking on the "Save Draft" button.
Approximately 95% of all incoming junk mail is prevented from arriving in your SFU Connect email account. The remaining spam messages that do get through are automatically placed into your Junk folder (in SFU Connect's web interface). It is best to check your Junk folder periodically for messages that have been mistakenly marked as spam.
The retention time for items in the Trash is 365 days. This is based on when the message was placed into the Trash folder.
If you want to remove messages from the Trash immediately, it is best to delete only those specific messages from the Trash folder. The Trash folder in SFU Connect acts as a safeguard for accidental deletion of messages. Emptying the entire Trash folder is highly discouraged. Fortunately, you can recover items deleted from the trash can within 30 days of deletion. Please see Recover Deleted Items for more information about how to recover items.
Provided that you have not yet emptied your Trash folder, you can simply move the message out of your Trash folder by dragging it to "Inbox" or another folder as you wish, within a year from when the message was placed into Trash.
You can organize your messages by dragging and dropping it into the appropriate folder; trash, junk or a new folder that can be created within the inbox folder. When it is moved, a status update will appear on the top of the screen with the option to undo your action. This will appear until the next action you perform on the system (e.g., refresh, read a message, move another message). You can only "undo" the moving of messages, which includes placing message into the Trash. Please note that the sending of messages cannot be undone. You can also undo message actions by pressing Control + Z on a Mac or PC.
To archive a message, follow the steps below.
1. Click the message you want to archive. This will highlight the message.
2. Click the Archive button, located near the top of the page.
3. If this is your first time archiving a message, a dialogue box will appear where you will indicate which folder the message will be archived to. Here you can also create a new folder named 'Archive', for example.
Once a folder is chosen or created, click on it so it becomes highlighted and the name appears in the text box. Then click OK.
4. Your Archive folder will now appear under Mail Folders as a default, unless you chose to store it elsewhere. From here, you can either drag and drop messages directly into the Archive folder, or select a message and click the Archive button near the top of the screen and the message will be moved to the pre-specified Archive folder.