October 31, 2017

Election to the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) is one of the highest professional honours accorded an engineer. Fellows are nominated and elected by their peers (current CAE Fellows) in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession.

Nominator: 3 current CAG Fellows.

Nominee: Canadian Citizen or permanent resident for a minimum of three years and has made substantial contributions to engineering in Canada, another country, or globally, with significant contributions to the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology or engineering knowledge; to the art and practice of engineering; and/or the development of organizations which are based on engineering knowledge.

Package: The nomination form and guidelines are only available to current Fellows and are posted in the Fellows section of the website.

Selection: Fellowship Committee reviews all nominations and recommends candidates for fellowship; approved candidates put to general fellowship for vote by active Fellows. Candidates shall be recognized for professional integrity as well as for engineering accomplishments. Unique effectiveness and efficiency in leadership of organizations that have conducted pioneering or complex programs or that have made noteworthy contributions to industry, engineering education or public policy affecting engineering should be considered in addition to the primary qualifications outlined above. The contributions must surpass what would normally be considered a successful career in the field of the candidate.

SFU recipients (3): Ash Parameswaran (2015); Nimal Rajapakse (2002); Thomas Calvert (1998).

Type: National

Career Level: Senior

Value: Honourary

Field: Science & Engineering