November 1, 2017

Two Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes in the amount of $50,000 each are awarded annually to distinguished individuals (one in the arts and one in the social sciences and humanities). The prizes are intended to encourage continuing contributions to the cultural and intellectual heritage of Canada.

Nominator: Individual or organization.

Nominee: Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. Candidates must have clearly demonstrated “outstanding achievement” and should still be active and productive. “Past assessment committees have been quite consistent in choosing winners who are close to the top of an outstanding career.”

Package: Nomination form, letters of support (3 max.), nomination letter, description of contributions (max. 2 pages), 1-page bio, CV, support documents (6 max., up to 4 pages each).

Resubmissions: Yes, but a new nomination package is required for third consecutive nomination, or if more than one year has elapsed since last nomination.

Selection: Multidisciplinary peer assessment committee will choose the two winners; committee members are among the most accomplished in their respective fields and have interests that extend beyond the confines of a single discipline. New committees are formed for each competition.

SFU recipients: None

Type: National

Career Level: Senior

Value: $50,000

Field: Social Sciences & Humanities