Feb 2019 CMS Notes: Ray Walsh and Robyn Hearn featured as 2018 AARMS-CMS Student Poster Session Winners

February 01, 2019

The Feburary 2019 edition of CMS Notes shows Ray Walsh and Robyn Hearn receiving their awards at the 2018 CMS Winter Meeting

The AARMS-CMS Student Poster Session gave awards to "the three best poster presenters, based on content, organization, and presentation”, with each winner receiving $100 and two tickets to the conference banquet. The competition did not distinguish graduate and undergraduate students and attracted 19 entrants.

The top two prizes were won by our students!

Robyn Hearn won the CMS Student Committee Award for her poster “Counting Irreducible Polynomials over Z_n” (research supervised by Michael Monagan).

Raymond Walsh won the AARMS Award for his poster "A Dynamical Theory for Cloud Edge Motion” (research supervised by David Muraki).