About The Department

Formed at the time of SFU's inception, The Political Science Department offers undergraduate instruction leading to the B.A. degree and graduate instruction leading to the M.A. and Ph.D. degrees.

The department consists of many full-time equivalent faculty members supported by a technical, secretarial, and administrative staff and offering courses across all three SFU campuses: Burnaby, Surrey and Downtown Vancouver. Our diverse, multidisciplinary faculty have worked on a wealth of research and have contributed to many major journals. 

Our B.A., M.A. and Ph.D. programs have also produced a number of talented alumni who have gone to work in academia and other fields.

Currently, the department's Political Science programs rank within the top 10 across Canadian universities (QS, 2014) while SFU itself ranks #1 in Canadian comprehensive universities (Macleans, 2017) and within the top 10 best universities in Canada. (Times Higher Education Rankings, 2016-2017).

External Links