Awards & Honours


  • Professor Gerhard Gries (Biological Sciences) becomes a Fellow of the Entomological Society of Canada and also receives the Distinction in Student Mentoring Award from the Pacific Branch of the Entomological Society of America


  • Statistics & Actuarial Science Professor Richard Lockhart is named as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada
  • Professor Emeritus Larry Dill (Biological Sciences) elected as a Fellow of the Animal Behaviour Society for his distinguished contributions to the field of animal behaviour
  • Professor Bojan Mohar (Department of Mathematics) is elected as a Fellow of the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics for seminal contributions to structural, topological and algebraic graph theory
  • Andrei Frolov of the Department of Physics and the rest of the European Space Agency Planck team are awarded the Group Achievement Award from the Royal Astronomical Society for measuring the oldest light in the Universe and breaking new ground in physics, astronomy and cosmology
  • The Canadian Society for Chemistry awards David Vocadlo (Department of Chemistry) the Bernard Belleau Award for his distinguished contribution to the field of medicinal chemistry through research involving biochemical or organic chemical mechanisms
  • Dr. Zamir Punja (Biological Sciences) receives a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Professional Pest Management Association of BC for his contributions toward understanding plant diseases and their management


  • Igor Herbut (Department of Physics) is inducted into the American Physical Society as a Fellow for his contributions to the theory of Dirac fermions in strongly correlated electron systems
  • Earth Sciences faculty member Dr. Doug Stead receives the prestigious R.F. Legget Medal from the Canadian Geotechnical Society for his "significant  lifelong contributions to the geotechnical field in Canada"
  • The Statistical Society of Canada's 2017 Award for Impact of Applied and Collaborative Work goes to Dr. Carl Schwarz of SFU's Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science
  • Retired Statistics Professor Larry Weldon is honoured with the Distiguished Service Award 2017 from the Statistical Society of Canada
  • Biological Sciences professor Gerhard Gries is awarded the 2017 Gold Medal from the Entomological Society of Canada for his outstanding contributions to entomology in Canada
  • Assistant Professor Jean-François Bégin (Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science) is named as a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries
  • Carl Lowenberger (Biological Sciences) is the 2017 recipent of the R. A. Wardle Medal from the Canadian Society of Zoologists for his stellar contributions to research in parasitology
  • SFU biologists Gerhard and Regine Gries are joint recipients of the C.W. Woodworth Award, given by the Entomological Society of America, Pacific Branch, for their outstanding accomplishments in entomology over the past 10 years or more
  • Dr. Bojan Mohar (Department of Mathematics) receives the 2017 Euler Medal from the Institute of Combinatorics and its Applications for his distinguished lifetime career contributions to combinatorial research
  • The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) elevates Dr. Zuo-Guang Ye (Chemistry) to IEEE Fellow for "contributions to piezoelectric and ferroelectric materials for high-performance electromechanical transducers"


  • Compute Canada's inaugural Trailblazer Award goes to Dugan O'Neil of the Department of Physics
  • Professor Gerhard Gries (Biological Sciences) is the recipient of the Entomological Society of America's Recognition Award in Insect Physiology, Biochemistry and Toxicology for his innovative research


  • Department of Biological Sciences Adjunct Professor and entomologist Dave Gillespie is appointed as a Member of the Order of Canada for his contributions to reducing the use of pesticides on agricultural products

  • Professor Richard Lockhart (Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science) receives the Statistical Society of Canada's 2015 Gold Medal, that Society's top honour for contributions to statistics, or to probability, either to mathematical developments or in applied work
  • Dr. Steven Holdcroft, Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemistry is honoured with the Canadian Society for Chemistry's Rio Tinto Alcan Award for his contributions to inorganic chemistry or electrochemistry
  • The Canadian Society for Chemistry's 2015 W.A.E. McBryde Medal goes to Hogan Yu for his significant achievement in pure or applied analytical chemistry as a young scientist working in Canada
  • Mathematics Assistant Professor Ben Adcock receives a Sloan Fellowship in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to his field


  • Professor Mario Pinto (Chemistry) receives the Chemical Institute of Canada's 2014 Montreal Medal as a mark of distinction and honour for an outstanding contribution to the profession of chemistry or chemical engineering in Canada


  • Dr. Diana Allen (Earth Sciences) is awarded the  Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC's President's Award - C.J. Westerman Memorial Award given in recognition of her exemplary and outstanding professional, technical and community contributions
  • Physicist Mike Thewalt's research team smashed endurance records for storing quantum information in a solid-state device at room temperature. Physics World voted this accomplishment as one of the top ten scientific breakthroughs of 2013
  • Dr. Mike Hayden (Department of Physics) along with his Alpha-Canada Team member colleagues are awarded the NSERC John C. Polanyi Award for outstanding research that played a key role in creating, capturing and characterizing the antihydrogen atom
  • Biologist Professor Zamir Punja is inducted as a Fellow of the Canadian Phytopathological Society for his  outstanding service to the Society and to the profession of plant pathology
  • Professor Mario Pinto of the Department of Chemistry is selected as the Canadian Society for Chemistry's Alfred Bader Award winner for excellence in research in organic chemistry
  • Dr. David Vocadlo (Department of Chemistry) receives the Horace S. Isbell Award from the American Chemical Society in recognition of his ongoing excellence in carbohydrate chemistry research
  • Physics faculty member Dr. Steve Dodge is presented with the SFU Dean of Graduate Studies Award for Excellence in Leadership
  • Professor Mike Thewalt of the Department of Physics is honoured with the SFU Excellence in Graduate Supervision award


  • Professor John Clague of Earth Sciences wins the Geological Association of Canada's 2012 J. Willis Ambrose Medal for his "sustained dedicated service to the Canadian earth science community"
  • Biomedical Physiology and Kinesiology professor Andy Hoffer's research spin-off company Lungpacer Medical Inc. wins the Most Promising Pre-Commercial Technology award from BC Technology Industry Association, followed by the silver medal at the 2012 World's Best Technologies Showcase
  • Professor Mario Pinto (Department of Chemistry) receives the 2012 R.U. Lemieux Award of the Canadian Society for Chemistry for his contributions to organic chemistry


  • Professor Steve Ruuth (Department of Mathematics) receives the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics' Germund Dahlquist Prize for his original contributions, especially in "the numerical solution of differential equations and numerical methods for scientific computing"
  • The University of Victoria honours chemist Dr. Robert Young with a Distinguished Alumni Award
  • Associate Professor of Mathematics Adam Oberman awarded the Monroe H. Martin Prize for an outstanding paper in applied mathematics by a young North American researcher

Canada Research Chairs

Other Research Chairs