Clear Browser History

It is possible for others to see the websites you’ve visited on a computer. If you prefer to keep your browsing private here's how to reduce the chances that your website activity will be traced.

Browsers like Internet Explorer and Firefox are designed to leave traces behind that indicate what websites you've been looking at.  It's difficult to guarantee that your internet activity can't be traced at all, but here are some simple things you can do to reduce the chances that someone looking through your computer will be able to see what websites you've visited.

Firefox

Clear browser history

  • Click the History menu from the top navigation
  • Select Clear Recent History
  • Ensure the following are selected:
    • Browsing & Download History
    • Form & Search History
    • Cookies
    • Cache
    • Active Logins
  • Click Clear Now

Private browsing

  • Click the File menu from the top navigation
  • Select New Private Window

Internet Explorer

Clear browser history

  • Click the Tools menu item
  • Select Safety
  • Select Delete Browsing History
  • Ensure the following are selected:
    • Temporary Internet files and website files
    • Cookies and website data
    • History
    • Download History
    • Form data
    • Tracking protection
  • Select Delete

Private browsing

  • Click the Tools menu item
  • Select Safety
  • Select  In Private Browsing

Google Chrome

Clear browsing history

  • Click the History menu from the top navigation
  • Select Show full history
  • Click Clear browsing data
  • Ensure the following are selected:
    • Browsing history
    • Download history
    • Cookies
    • Cached images and files
  • Click Clear browsing data

Private browsing

  • Click the File menu from the top navigation
  • Select New Incognito Window

Safari

Clear browser history

  • Open the History menu from the top navigation
  • Select Clear History…
  • Select all history from the drop down menu.
  • Click Clear History

Private browsing

  • Click the File menu from the top navigation
  • Select New Private Window