SFU President Andrew Petter.

Faculty and Staff

President Andrew Petter’s leadership lauded

September 19, 2018

The Public Policy Forum (PPF) is recognizing SFU President Andrew Petter and three other exemplary western leaders with its 2018 Peter Lougheed Award for Leadership in Public Policy.

The award recognizes their extraordinary leadership and contribution to public policy and public discourse.

Petter, a professor in SFU’s School of Public Policy, previously served as the Dean of Law at the University of Victoria from 2001 to 2008. The award acknowledges his post-secondary career contributions as well as his public service. As a B.C. MLA from 1991-2001, he held numerous cabinet positons, including Minister of Aboriginal Affairs, Minister of Advanced Education, Training and Technology, and Attorney General and Minister Responsible for Human Rights.

Also receiving the award are Sue Paish, the inaugural CEO of Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster, Murad Al-Katib, president and CEO of AGT Food and Ingredients Inc., and Sophie Pierre, a former chief of ‘Aqam (the St. Mary’s Indian Band) of the Ktunaxa Nation.

They will receive their awards at the PPF’s Western Dinner on Sept. 19, 2018 in Vancouver.