Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs Program is a Government of Canada program that recognizes and invests in research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences. Only a small number of faculty members in each university are awarded a Canada Research Chair position to support their research program. Canada Research Chairs receive a five year appointment with the possibility of renewal.


Dr. Diane Gromala and the Pain Studies Lab

Professor Gromala holds the Canada Research Chair (CRC) in Computational Technologies for Transforming Pain and is the founding director of the Chronic Pain Research Institute.

The Pain Studies Lab is a research group and physical research space funded by the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) at SIAT. It was founded and is directed by Dr. Diane Gromala. The group studies, invents and designs technologies for people who live with persistent pain, their pain physicians and healthcare professionals, their caregivers, and their social milieux.  We engage chronic pain patients in our research, and are proud to work hand-in-hand with a group of BC’s most prominent pain experts and non-profit organizations.