Safety Programs


Simon Fraser University sets minimum requirements for safety, and mandates the Environmental Health and Research Safety (EHRS) Department to develop programs in support of safety.


Departments are required to have a site specific Departmental Safety Program.  EHRS is available to assist departments in making their safety program site specific.

Departmental Safety Programs

Deans and department heads have the primary responsibility to provide leadership and enforce environmental health and safety standards within their area. They are obligated to monitor the effectiveness of the management practices relative to environmental health and safety.

Every department must have a Safety Program that addresses the ten basic elements required by the Workers' Compensation Act (RSBC 1996), c 492, Part 3, Section 125 - 140 and WorkSafeBC Occupational Health and Safety Regulation 185/99, Part 3.3, and additional elements as required.

  • EHRS Policies                       
  • Orientation Training & Employee Supervision
  • Management Meetings                    
  • Local Joint Health and Safety Committees
  • Incident Reporting and Investigations
  • Program Review             
  • First Aid and Emergency Services
  • Records and Statistics                      
  • Written Safe Work Instructions
  • Risk Assessment & Worksite Inspection

EHRS Safety Programs and Protocols

EHRS provides leadership and works with stakeholders to develop university-wide programs relating to research, trades and construction, hazardous material management, ergonomics, indoor air quality and fire safety.  Protocols are also developed to report and investigate incidents, report hazards and inspect for compliance.