Connect with a Chaplain

Your well-being, emotional, practical and/or spiritual well-being, is important to us. Do you want to have a honest conversation with someone, where you can just be yourself?

Our Chaplains are here to support you. Please feel free to reach out to a chaplain for one on one conversation and support. Or email mfcadmin@sfu.ca for more information. 

Athletes

Arlene VanReenen      (varlene@sfu.ca)     

Baptist

Victor Thomas            (vthomas@sfu.ca)                  604-376-4263

Ismaili

Tahir Nathani                 (tnathani@sfu.ca)               

Nawaal Abdul-Khaliq    (nawaala@sfu.ca)          

InterVarsity

Alan Thorimbert           (alan_thorimbert@sfu.ca)   

Jewish

Kylynn Cohen          (kylynn_cohen@sfu.ca)                  

Pentecostal

Milly Li                        (li_yuentsun_milly@sfu.ca)       778-875-9565

Power to Change

Amy Chow                  (achowd@sfu.ca)                        

Presbyterian

Alfred Lee                   (kcm_alfredlee@sfu.ca)             604-760-1265

Roman Catholic

Rev. Julio Lagos           (catholicchaplain@sfu.ca)            604-653-3007

Chaplaincy Support: Lioba Na                     (catholicchaplaincy@sfu.ca)         778-782-3180

Webpage: www.sfucatholic.ca

Facebook Page

Shia

Mehdi Aminipouri         (mehdi_aminipouri@sfu.ca)  

Sunni

Shaheer Muhammad        (shaheer_muhammad@sfu.ca)

 

Multifaith Affliated Groups

Athletes in Action

Arlene VanReenen      (varlene@sfu.ca)   

Maddy Adrian             (maddyp@sfu.ca)                          

Catholic Christian Outreach

Henry Morales           (henry.morales@cco.ca) 

Webpage: www.sfucatholic.ca    

Ismaili Student Association

The Shia Ismaili Muslims are a community of ethnically and culturally diverse peoples living in over 25 countries around the world, united in their allegiance to His Highness Prince Karim Aga Khan (known to the Ismailis as Mawlana Hazar Imam) as the 49th hereditary Imam (spiritual leader), and direct descendant of Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him and his family). Connect with us online through Facebook or Instagram @sfu_isa or through email.

Tahir Nathani                 (tnathani@sfu.ca)               

Nawaal Abdul-Khaliq    (nawaala@sfu.ca)         

                                   (sfuisa@gmail.com)

InterVarsity

InterVarsity at SFU is seeking to see transformation of students and graduates, in all their ethnic diversity, into fully committed followers of Jesus Christ. We seek to see students grow in their influence and learn valuable servant-leadership skills to love and serve their fellow students at SFU. Connect on Facebook and instagram with: @intervarsitysfu

Waison Chen                 (wchen@ivcf.ca)

Tricia Chen                    (tchen@ivcf.ca)    

                                    (intervarsitysfu@gmail.com)

Muslim Students Association

We are involved in providing a space for Muslims to pray, learn, meet others and get involved in the community as well as many other activities. We strive to meet the following three objectives: 1. To provide and facilitate religious services on all three campuses; 2. To provide and facilitate educational programs on Islam; and, 3. To provide space and opportunities for creating a sense of Muslim community at SFU.

Soraya Elchehimi        (selchehi@sfu.ca)        778-680-2762

Husnain Nawaz          (hnawaz@sfu.ca)        778-302-8903

Sarah Abdullah          (sjabdull@sfu.ca)        236-881-2714                                                       

Jewish Student Association

We promote Jewish life on campus and beyond, providing a warm, welcoming environment where students in BC are able to grow religiously, culturally, socially and ethically. Our programs and events reflect the diverse interests and needs of our members, build valuable leadership skills, and help to create a long-term impact in the Jewish community and beyond.

Kylynn Cohen          (kylynn_cohen@sfu.ca) 

Power to Change

SFU Power to Change is a community that wants to mobilize students to a life of adventurous faith. We have weekly, 1-hr Discipleship Groups for individuals to meet and discuss faith online as well as online community events where students can hang out, discuss, and have fun together. Join our community on Discord

Grace Neufeld             (gneufeld@sfu.ca)

Dayton Mah                (dayton_mah@sfu.ca)

                                       (sfu.p2c@gmail.com)                

Shia Muslim Society

Mehdi Aminipouri         (mehdi_aminipouri@sfu.ca)  

The Point Church

Victor Thomas             (vthomas@sfu.ca)                  604-376-4263

Candice Thomas          (candice@pointchurch.ca)       604-733-2075

Webpage      Facebook Page      Instagram

University Christian Ministries

UCM SFU is a Christian community of students at SFU desiring to know and love God. We seek to love and support one another, care for our campus, and tell others about Jesus. Connect with us on IG!

Milly Li                         (li_yuentsun_milly@sfu.ca)       778-875-9565

                                       (ucmsfu@sfu.ca)