issues and experts

SFU experts available for National Seniors Day (Oct.1)

September 26, 2019
Print

The following SFU experts can provide insights on topics from healthy aging and accessibility, to environmental adaptation for seniors:

Angela Brooks-Wilson, professor and chair, biomedical physiology and kinesiology; 778.782.3889, arw6@sfu.ca

'Super seniors' and healthy aging

Habib Chaudhury, chair and professor, gerontology, 778.782.5232; chaudhury@sfu.ca

Environmental gerontology, age-friendly communities; researches physical environment for people with dementia in long-term care facilities, community planning and urban design for active aging, and dementia-friendly communities
 
Theodore Cosco, assistant professor, gerontology, 778.957.3339 tcosco@sfu.ca
Mental health and healthy aging

Gloria Gutman, research associate and professor emerita, gerontology, 778.782.5063; gutman@sfu.ca
Geron-technology, elder abuse, health promotion, advance care planning

David Kaufman, professor, education, 604.773.7809; dkaufman@sfu.ca
Digital games and story-telling for older adults

Dawn Mackey, associate professor, biomedical physiology and kinesiology; 778.782.9330, dmackey@sfu.ca (Can be reached via email from September 26 to October 3)
Mobility and aging: enabling mobility in older adults

Atiya Mahmood, associate professor, gerontology, 778.782.7635; amahmood@sfu.ca
Mobility disability and the built environment; research project underway (Enabling Mobility And participatioN among those with Disabilities; dEMAND) on community mobility and participation among people living with mobility disabilities, in the Greater Vancouver area and Quebec City 

Steve Robinovitch, professor, biomedical physiology and kinesiology, 778.782.3566; stever@sfu.ca
Injury prevention in seniors

Andrew Sixsmith, professor, gerontology and director, AGEWELL, 778.782.5375; sixsmith@sfu.ca
Quality of life for the aging population, technology solutions for healthy aging, aging policies and statistics

Andrew Wister, professor, gerontology and director of the Gerontology Research Centre, 778.782.5044; wister@sfu.ca
Multi-morbidity resilience, environmental adaptation among older adults (baby boomers)

Contact: 
Marianne Meadahl, University Communications & Marketing, 778.782.9017, Marianne_Meadahl@sfu.ca


About Simon Fraser University: 

As Canada’s engaged university, SFU works with communities, organizations and partners to create, share and embrace knowledge that improves life and generates real change. We deliver a world-class education with lifelong value that shapes change-makers, visionaries and problem-solvers. We connect research and innovation to entrepreneurship and industry to deliver sustainable, relevant solutions to today’s problems. With campuses in British Columbia’s three largest cities – Vancouver, Burnaby and Surrey – SFU has eight faculties, delivers almost 150 programs to over 35,000 students, and boasts more than 155,000 alumni in 143 countries. 

Simon Fraser University: Engaging Students. Engaging Research. Engaging Communities.