issues and experts

Experts on mental health awareness for World Mental Health Day

October 08, 2019
Print

Contact:
Ian Bryce, University Communications and Marketing, 236-880-2187, ian_bryce@sfu.ca

This week, mental health is top of mind with Canadian Mental Illness Awareness Week running from October 6 to 12 and World Health Organization’s World Mental Health Awareness Day occurring on October 10.

 

The following SFU experts can speak to a variety of mental health topics:

Paola Ardiles, Health Sciences, 778-782-4578, pardiles@sfu.ca

Equity-centered approaches to tackle root cause of mental health problems.

 

Charlotte Waddell, Health Sciences, 778-782-7769, charlotte_waddell@sfu.ca

Child and youth mental health and children’s mental health policy.

 

Faranak Farzan, Mechatronic Systems Engineering, ffarzan@sfu.ca

Artificial intelligence, big data and virtual reality for mental health applications and youth depression and addiction. 

 

Sarah Canham, Gerontology, 801-581-8738, scanham@sfu.ca

Mental health, older adults and substance use.

 

Theodore Cosco, Gerontology, tcosco@sfu.ca

Mental health, depression, anxiety, healthy aging and resilience in older adults.