issues and experts

Experts available on Economic and Fiscal Snapshot

July 06, 2020
Print

CONTACT:
Braden McMillan, communications and marketing, 236.880.3459, bradenm@sfu.ca

On Wednesday, July 8th, the federal Minister of Finance will provide an economic and fiscal update. The 2020 budget was originally planned to be released on March 30th but was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Wednesday’s announcement will provide a snapshot of the federal government’s finances in the face of this crisis.

The following experts are available to speak to this topic:

Terri Griffith, Keith Beedie Chair in Innovation & Entrepreneurship, terri_griffith@sfu.ca

  • Online learning
  • Remote work and the government's plan to mobilize industry to fight COVID-19

Sarah Lubik, director, entrepreneurship and innovation, Beedie School of Business, slubik@sfu.ca

  • Challenging companies to develop technology, products and solutions for COVID-19

Andrey Pavlov, Beedie School of Business, 604.763.3696, apavlov@sfu.ca

  • Financial/economic impact of COVID-19
  • Real estate markets
  • Stock market and long-term economic impacts

Jeremy Stone, director of SFU’s Community Economic Development Program, jeremy_stone@sfu.ca

  • Economic recovery after disasters
  • Economic resilience planning
  • Economic development for community well-being

Kendra Strauss, labour studies, kstrauss@sfu.ca

  • Labour markets
  • Wages, labour and regulation

Anastasia Ufimtseva, Beedie School of Business, anastasia_ufimtseva@sfu.ca (fluent in Czech and Russian)

  • Global governance
  • Political economy of natural resources
  • Impact of sliding oil prices on the global and Canadian oil and gas sector

For more COVID-19 experts on topics such as health, education, environment and more, visit our website.

About Simon Fraser University:

As Canada’s engaged university, SFU works with communities, organizations and partners to create, share and embrace knowledge that improves life and generates real change. We deliver a world-class education with lifelong value that shapes change-makers, visionaries and problem-solvers. We connect research and innovation to entrepreneurship and industry to deliver sustainable, relevant solutions to today’s problems. With campuses in British Columbia’s three largest cities – Vancouver, Burnaby and Surrey – SFU has eight faculties that deliver 193 undergraduate degree programs and 127 graduate degree programs to more than 35,000 students. The university now boasts more than 160,000 alumni residing in 143 countries.