media release

SFU announces 2019 Honorary Degree recipients

March 13, 2019

Justin Wong, SFU Communications & Marketing, 778.782.3035;


Canada’s first female general surgeon of First Nations descent, a cultural visionary, and a co-founder of Vancouver’s Amnesty International chapter are among 10 distinguished individuals to receive honorary degrees in 2019 from Simon Fraser University.

During the spring convocation ceremonies June 11-14, SFU will confer honorary degrees on:

Norman Armour, a cultural visionary, dedicated arts advocate and interdisciplinary artist who has spent the past three decades creating a vibrant arts community in Vancouver.

Chief Robert Joseph, a hereditary chief of the Gwawaenuk First Nation and a peace-builder who has devoted his life to promoting reconciliation among Canada’s Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples.

Ruby Peter (Sti’tum’at), a Coast Salish elder who for six decades has brought her love of Hul’q’umi’num’ cultural traditions to her language teaching and linguistic research.

Joe Schwarcz, a McGill University professor and award-winning chemist whose passion for his subject, and for science in general, extends to interpreting and teaching science through informative and entertaining public lectures, media appearances, and numerous books.

Dava Sobel, an award-winning former science reporter for The New York Times and an author whose many best-selling books have made an outstanding contribution to the public’s understanding and appreciation of science, and of women in science.

Jennifer Wade, co-founder of Vancouver’s Amnesty International chapter, a justice advocate who has devoted her life to championing human rights, social justice and education, and to speaking out for those unable to speak for themselves.

At the fall convocation ceremonies October 10-11, the recipients will be:

Dr. Nadine Caron, who is Anishnawbe from Sagamok First Nation. She is a surgeon, associate professor, and internationally renowned health advocate who is passionate about improving health outcomes for Indigenous peoples.

Timothy Caulfield, professor, who holds the Canada Research Chair in Health Law and Policy at the University of Alberta. He is one of Canada’s best-known public intellectuals and a passionate advocate for evidence-based health policy.

Andreas Dracopoulos, co-president of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF) that has made grants totaling nearly $3 billion in 124 countries since 1996. He has been awarded rank of the Grand Cross of the Order of Honor in Greece, and Officer of the Legion of Honor in France.

Lorne Trottier, an innovator, entrepreneur, philanthropist and, through the Trottier Foundation, a leading Canadian supporter of research and education in the sciences.

<p><a href="/content/sfu/sfunews/comment_guidelines.html?keepThis=true&amp;TB_iframe=true&amp;height=700&amp;width=700" class="thickbox">Comment Guidelines</a><br>