media release

Building a better future: eight SFU innovators named to the Royal Society of Canada

September 10, 2019

Marianne Meadahl, SFU Communications & Marketing, 778.782.9017;

Royal Society of Canada news release:
SFU News:

Eight Simon Fraser University researchers have been named to the Royal Society of Canada—seven of them as fellows of the society and one as a member of the society’s College of New Scholars, Scientists and Artists. Membership in the Royal Society is Canada’s highest academic honour. 

Established in 1882 as Canada’s national academy, the society promotes research and learning in the arts, humanities and sciences. The society awards fellowships to peer-elected and distinguished individuals who have made significant contributions in these fields. The society’s mandate is to build a better future for Canada and the world.

The College of New Scholars recognizes emerging intellectual leaders who have demonstrated high achievement during their early career. 

SFU’s 2019 Royal Society of Canada Fellows are: 

• Tania Bubela, professor and dean, Faculty of Health Sciences. Bubela combines her legal and life sciences training to study the impact and regulation of health biotechnology innovations. 

• Martin Ester, professor, School of Computing Science. A data-mining pioneer, Ester designs algorithms for reaping database information that can be used in practical applications, such as precision medicine. 

• Joy Johnson, SFU vice-president, research and international, and professor, Faculty of Health Sciences. Johnson is internationally recognized for defining research, policies and practices that establish better health outcomes for both men and women. 

• Jian Pei, professor, School of Computing Science, Faculty of Applied Sciences. Pei invented some of the fundamental principles used today in data mining. 

• Philip Winne, professor, Faculty of Education. A learning scientist, Winne has transformed how we conceptualize, measure, research and facilitate learning. 

• Zuo-Guang Ye, professor, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science. A leading authority in solid-state materials science, Ye has shaped the development, standardization and commercialization of novel electronic materials. 

• Yuezhi Zhao, professor and Tier 1 Canada Research Chair, School of Communication, Faculty of Communication, Art and Technology. Zhao is a communication scholar who examines the dynamics of power and democratic governance in Anglo-American, Chinese and global contexts.

• SFU’s 2019 College member is Anne Salomon, professor, Faculty of Environment. An applied marine ecologist, Salomon helps develop ecologically effective and socially just conservation and management strategies for our oceans. 

The RSC will welcome a total of 93 new fellows and 46 college members at a ceremony in Ottawa in November.

About Simon Fraser University:

As Canada’s engaged university, SFU works with communities, organizations and partners to create, share and embrace knowledge that improves life and generates real change. We deliver a world-class education with lifelong value that shapes change-makers, visionaries and problem-solvers. We connect research and innovation to entrepreneurship and industry to deliver sustainable, relevant solutions to today’s problems. With campuses in British Columbia’s three largest cities – Vancouver, Burnaby and Surrey – SFU has eight faculties, delivers almost 150 programs to over 35,000 students, and boasts more than 155,000 alumni in 143 countries. 


<p><a href="/content/sfu/sfunews/comment_guidelines.html?keepThis=true&amp;TB_iframe=true&amp;height=700&amp;width=700" class="thickbox">Comment Guidelines</a><br>