Chairs & Directors

Applied Sciences

Director, School of Comupting Science, Mohamed Hefeeda

Phone: 778-782-8862
Email: mhefeeda@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/21 -Apr 30/23

Director, Engineering Science, Michael Sjoerdsma

Phone: 778-782-3119
Email: enscdir@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/19 - Apr 30/22

Director, Mechatronics Systems Engineering, John Shen

Phone: 778-782-8456
Email: john_zheng_shen@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/22 - Dec 31/26

Director, School of Sustainable Energy Engineering (SEE), Mehran Ahmadi

Phone: 
Email: school_director_see@sfu.ca
Term: 

Director, Dual Degree Program, Rob Cameron

Phone: 778-782-7573
Email: cameron@cs.sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 - Aug 31/22

Arts and Social Sciences

Director, Criminology, Martin Bouchard

Phone: 778-782-8135
Email: mbouchard@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 - Aug 31/25

Chair, Economics, Anke Kessler

Phone
Email: econ_chair@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 - Aug 31/24

Director, Cognitive Science Program, John Alderete

Email: alderete@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 - Aug 31/25

Chair, English, Carolyn Lesjak

Phone: 778-782-5445
Email: clesjak@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 - Aug 31/24

Chair, Department of Indigenous Studies, Deanna Reder

Phone: 778-782-8192
Email: deanna_reder@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/22

Chair, French, Christian Guilbault

Phone: 778-782-6783
Email: frendir@sfu.ca  
Term: Sept 1/21 - Aug 31/24

Chair, Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies, Helen Leung

Phone
Email: gswschr@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Director, Global Asia Program, Nadine Attewell

Phone
Email: nadine_attewell@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 -Aug 31/24

Chair, Gerontology, Habib Chaudhury

Phone: 778-782-5232
Email: chaudhury@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/22 - Dec 31/24

Director, Graduate Liberal Studies, Sasha Colby

Email: scolby@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/18 - Aug 31/23

Director, Hellenic Studies, Dimitris Krallis

Email: dkrallis@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/22

[Acting] Chair, History, Jeremy Brown

Phone: 778-782-4450
Email: histchr@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 - Aug 31/24

Chair, Humanities, David Mirhady

Phone: 778-782-3906
Email: david_mirhady@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Director, School for International Studies, Megan MacKenzie

Phone: 778-782-4432
Email: m_mackenzie@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 - Aug 31/25

Director, Labour Studies Program, Kendra Strauss

Phone: 778-782-9816
Email: kstrauss@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Chair, Linguistics, Panayiotis Pappas

Phone: 778-782-5514
Email: lingchair@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Chair, Philosophy, Evan Tiffany

Phone: 778-782-3330
Email: chairphi@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 -Aug 31/23

[Acting] Chair, Political Science, Anil (Andy) Hira

Phone: 778-782-3286
Email: ahira@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 - Aug 31/23

Chair, Psychology, Deborah Connolly

Phone: 778-782-3250
Email: debc@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Chair, Sociology & Anthropology, Wendy Chan

Phone: 778-782-4469
Email: wchane@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 - Aug 31/25

Director, Public Policy, Genevieve LeBaron

Phone: 778-782-5289
Email: genevieve_lebaron@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/22 - Dec 31/26

Director, Urban Studies, Anthony Perl

Phone: 778-782-7887
Email: aperl@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 - Aug 31/24

Chair, World Languages & Literatures, Azadeh Yamini-Hamedani

Phone: 778-782-8761
Email: azadeh_yamini-hamedani@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/22 - Apr 31/24

Director, Mental Health, Law and Policy Institute in the Department of Psychology, Ron Roesch

Phone: 604-731-3536
Email: roesch@sfu.ca
Term: July 1/21 - Jun 30/24

Director, Centre for Scottish Studies, Leith Davis

Phone
Email: leith@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/21 - Apr 30/24

Director, Institute for the Humanitities, Samir Gandesha

Phone: 778-782-5855
Email: gandesha@sfu.ca
Term: April 1/21 - Mar 31/23

Beedie School of Business

Academic Director, Part Time MBA and Management of Technology, Elsie Christopher

Phone: 778-782-5154
Email: echristo@sfu.ca
Term: Jun 25/18-June 24-21

Academic Director, Graduate Diploma in Business Admin and Full Time MBA, Anthony Chan

Phone: 778-782-4822
Email: anthonyc@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/20-Dec 31/22

Academic Director, PhD Program, Christina Atanasova

Phone: 778-782-6989
Email: christina_atanasova@sfu.ca
Term: Sep 1/20-Aug 31/23

Academic Director, Master of Science in Finance, Jan Simon

Phone: 778-782-5298
Email: jan_simon@sfu.ca
Term: Sep 1/20-Aug 31/21

Academic Director, MBA in Indigenous Business Leadership, Tom Brown

Phone: 778-782-3574
Email: tomb@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20-Apr 30/21

Academic Director, Masters of Science in Accounting with Cognitive Analytics, Jamal Z. Nazari

Phone: 778-782-9371
Email: jnazari@sfu.ca
Term: Sep 1/20-Aug 31/23

Academic Director, Executive MBA, Karel Hrazdil

Phone: 778-782-6516
Email: karel_hrazdil@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/2019-Apr 30/22

Academic Director, Graduate Certificate in Science and Technology Commercialization, Elicia Maine

Phone: 778-782-5298
Email: emaine@sfu.ca|
Term: Jan 1/19-Dec 31/19

Academic Director, Teck Program, Ian McCarthy

Phone: 778-782-5298
Email: imccarth@sfu.ca
Term: Sep 1/19-Aug 31/22

Academic Director, Undergraduate Programs, Kamal Masri

Phone: 778-782-7078
Email: kmasri@sfu.ca
Term: Sep 1/19/Aug 31/22

Academic Director, Undergraduate Minor, Simon Ford

Phone: 
Email: simon_ford@sfu.ca
Term: Sep 1/20-Aug 31/22

Communication, Art and Technology

Director, School of Communication, Stuart Poyntz 

Phone: 778-782-5398
Email: cmnsdir@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/22 - Aug 31/23

Director, Contemporary Arts, Elspeth Pratt

Phone: 778-782-3766
Email
: epratt@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Director, Interactive Arts & Technology, Thecla Schiphorst

Phone: 778-782-7441
Email: siat_dir@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 - Aug 31/24

Director, Masters in Digital Media,

Email: @thecdm.ca
Term: 

Director, Publishing, John Maxwell

Email: jmax@sfu.ca
Term: Sep 1/21 - Aug 31/23

Education

Director, Professional Programs, Janice St. Helene

Phone: 778-782-6629
Email: pps_assoc_director@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 - Aug 31/24

Director, Undergraduate Programs, Margaret MacDonald

Phone: 778-881-7085
Email: margaret_macdonald@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/20 - Dec 31/22

Environment

Director, Environmental Science, Karen Kohfeld

Phone: 778-782-7651
Email: evsc_director@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 - Aug 31/25

Chair, Geography, Tracy Brennand

Phone: 778-782-3823
Email: tabrenna@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 - Aug 31/24

Director, Resource & Environmental Management, Sean Markey

Phone: 778-782-4702
Email: sean_markey@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/22 - Aug 31/25

Chair, Archaeology, Hugo Cardoso

Phone: 778-782-4171
Email: hcardoso@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Health Sciences

Director, Undergraduate Programs, Yekaterina (Kate) Tairyan

Phone: 778-782-9064
Email: ktairyan@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 - Aug 31/22

Director, Graduate Programs, Frank Lee

Phone: 778-782-8649
Email: f_lee@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/22

Director, Centre for Indigenous Governance, Jeffrey Reading

Phone: 778-782-3913
Email: jeffrey_reading@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Director, Centre for Applied Research in Mental Health, Julian Somers

Phone: 778-782-5049
Email: jsomers@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Lifelong Learning

Director, Leadership & Community Building Programs, Shanthi Besso

Phone: 778-782-5220
Email: shantib@sfu.ca

Director, Career and Professional Programs, Tene Barber

Phone: 778-782-5078
Email: tene_barber@sfu.ca

Science

Chair, Biological Sciences, Tony Williams

Phone: 778-782-4982
Email: biscchr@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/22 - Dec 31/24

Chair, Biomedical Physiology
& Kinesiology, Max Donelan

Phone: 778-782-7100
Email: max_donelan@sfu.ca
Term: July 1/20 - June 30/23

Chair, Chemistry, Charles Walsby

Phone: 778-782-4607
Email: chemchr@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/22 - Apr 30/27

Chair, Earth Sciences, Glyn Wiliams-Jones

Phone: 778-782-5387
Email: easc_chair@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Chair, Mathematics, Manfred Trummer

Phone
Email: trummer@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/21 - Dec 31/23

Chair, Molecular Biology &
Biochemistry, Lisa Craig

Phone: 778-782-7140
Email: licraig@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 - Dec 31/24

Chair, Physics, Barbara Frisken

Phone: 778-782-5767
Email: frisken@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/20 - Aug 31/23

Chair, Statistics & Actuarial Science, Derek Bingham

Phone: 778-782-3426
Email: dbingham@stats.sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/21 - Aug 31/24