Chairs & Directors

Applied Sciences

Director, Computing Science, Mohamed Hefeeda

Phone: 778-782-8826
Email: mhefeeda@cs.sfu.ca
Term: May 1/18 - Apr 30/21

Director, Engineering Science, Glenn Chapman

Phone: 778-782-3119
Email: enscdir@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/19 - Apr 30/22

Director, Mechatronics Systems Engineering, Edward Park

Phone: 778-782-8662
Email: ed_park@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/20 - Aug 31/20

Director, School of Sustainable Energy Engineering (SEE), Kevin Oldknow

Phone: 778-782-9254
Email: koldknow@sfu.ca
Term: June 1/19 - Aug 31/24

Arts and Social Sciences

Director, Criminology, David MacAlister

Phone: 778-782-4305
Email: dmacalis@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/20 - Aug 31/22

Chair, Economics, Nicolas Schmitt

Phone: 778-782-4582
Email: schmitt@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/20

Director, Cognitive Science Program, Paul Tupper

Email: pft3@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/18 - Aug 31/21

Chair, English, Carolyn Lesjak

Phone: 778-782-5445
Email: clesjak@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/22

Chair, First Nations Studies, Deanna Reder

Phone: 778-782-8192
Email: deanna_reder@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20

Chair, French, Christian Guilbault

Phone: 778-782-6783
Email: frendir@sfu.ca  
Term: Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20

Chair, Gerontology, Habib Chaudhury

Phone: 778-782-5232
Email: chaudhury@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/18 - Dec 31/20

Director, Graduate Liberal Studies, Sasha Colby

Email: scolby@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/18 - Aug 31/23

Director, Hellenic Studies, Dimitris Krallis

Email: dkrallis@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/22

Chair, History, Jennifer Spear 

Phone: 778-782-8435
Email: jms25@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/18 - Aug 31/20

Chair, Humanities, Paul Crowe

Phone: 778-782-3406
Email: pcrowe@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20

Director, School for International Studies, Tamir Moustafa

Phone: 778-782-8426
Email: tmoustafa@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20

Director, Labour Studies Program, Enda Brophy    

Phone: 778-782-8085
Email: enda_brophy@sfu.ca
Term: May 1 1/20 - Aug 31/20

Chair, Linguistics, Nancy Hedberg

Phone: 778-782-3554
Email: lingchair@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/15 - Aug 31/20

Chair, Philosophy, Evan Tiffany

Phone: 778-782-6647
Email: chairphi@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/17 -Aug 31/20

Chair, Political Science, Alex Moens

Phone: 778-782-4361
Email: moens@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/20 - Apr 30/22

Chair, Psychology, Deborah Connolly

Phone: 778-782-3250
Email: debc@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20

Chair, Sociology & Anthropology, Dany Lacombe

Phone: 778-782-5478
Email: sachair@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/22

Chair, Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies, Helen Leung

Phone: 778-782-5688
Email: gswschr@sfu.ca
Term: June 1/20 -Aug 31/20

Director, Public Policy, Nancy Olewiler

Phone: 778-782-7700
Email: olewiler@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/18 - Dec 31/21

Director, Urban Studies, Meg Holden

Phone: 778-782-7888
Email: mholden@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/18 - Aug 31/21

Chair, World Languages & Literatures, Melek Ortabasi

Phone
Email: mso1@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/20 - Aug 31/21

Beedie School of Business

Academic Director, MBA, Jan Simon

Phone: 778-782-7710
Email: jan_simon@sfu.ca

Academic Director, Part Time MBA, Tom Brown

Phone: 778-782-3574
Email: tomb@sfu.ca

Executive Director, Executive Education, Karmen Blackwood

Phone: 778-782-9023
Email: karmen_blackwood@sfu.ca

Academic Director, Management of Technology, Michael Johnson

Phone: 778-782-5154
Email: mjohn@sfu.ca

Academic Director, Graduate Diploma in Business Admin, Tom Brown

Phone: 778-782-3574
Email: tomb@sfu.ca

Academic Director, PhD Program, Peter Klein

Phone: 778-782-7722
Email: pklein@sfu.ca

Academic Director, Master of Science in Finance, Jan Simon

Phone: 778-782-7710
Email: jan_simon@sfu.ca

Communication, Art and Technology

Director, Communication, Janet Marontate

Phone: 778-782-5449
Email: cmnsdir@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/20

Director, Contemporary Arts, Arne Eigenfeldt

Email: arne_eigenfeldt@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/20

Director, Interactive Arts & Technology, Carman Neustaedter

Email: carman@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/18 - Aug 31/21

Director, Masters in Digital Media, Larry Bafia

Email: larry_bafia@thecdm.ca
Term: May 1/20 - Dec 31/20

Director, Publishing, John Maxwell

Email: jmax@sfu.ca
Term: Sep 1/19 - Aug 31/20

Education

Director, Professional Programs, Paul Neufeld

Phone: 778-782-4326
Email: pneufeld@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/22

Director, Undergraduate Programs, Natalia Gajdamaschko

Phone: 778-881-7920
Email: nataliag@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20

Environment

Director, Enironmental Science, Jeremy Venditti

Phone: 778-782-3488
Email: evsc_director@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/22

Chair, Geography, Tracy Brennand

Phone: 778-782-3718
Email: tabrenna@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/20

Director, Resource & Environmental Management, Mark Jaccard

Phone: 778-782-4219
Email: mark_jaccard@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/22

Chair, Archaeology, George Nicholas

Phone: 778-782-5709
Email: nicholas@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20

Health Sciences

Director, Undergraduate Programs, Nienke Van Houten

Phone: 778-782-9065
Email: nvanhout@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/19 - Aug 31/21

Lifelong Learning

Director, Leadership & Community Building Programs, Shanthi Besso

Phone: 778-782-5220
Email: shantib@sfu.ca

Director, Career and Professional Programs, Tene Barber

Phone: 778-782-5078
Email: tene_barber@sfu.ca

Science

Chair, Biological Sciences, Isabelle Côté

Phone: 778-782-3705
Email: biscchr@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/19 - Dec 31/21

Chair, Biomedical Physiology
& Kinesiology, Max Donelan

Phone: 778-782-7100
Email: max_donelan@sfu.ca
Term: July 1/20 - June 30/23

Chair, Chemistry, Vance Williams

Phone: 778-782-4884
Email: chemchr@sfu.ca
Term: May 1/19 - Apr 30/22

Chair, Earth Sciences, Brent Ward

Phone: 778-782-4229
Email: bcward@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/20

Chair, Mathematics, Tom Archibald

Phone: 778-782-3379
Email: tarchi@math.sfu.ca
Term: May 1/20 - Dec 31/20

Chair, Molecular Biology &
Biochemistry, Nancy Hawkins

Phone: 778-782-3541
Email: nhawkins@sfu.ca
Term: Jan 1/19 - Dec 31/21

Chair, Physics, Jeff Sonier

Phone: 778-782-4223
Email: physchr@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/20

Chair, Statistics & Actuarial Science, Tim Swartz

Phone: 778-782-4579
Email: timothy_swartz@sfu.ca
Term: Sept 1/19 - Aug 31/21