The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities is a non-governmental, non-profit, membership organization, overseeing regional accreditation for over 160 institutions in the seven-state Northwest region – Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah and Washington – and for a limited number of institutions outside the U.S. Its decision-making body consists of up to 24 Commissioners – institutional representatives and public members – a chair and the President, who is ex-officio.

The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, which can trace its history to 1917, is one of seven regional organizations, recognized since 1952 by the U.S. Department of Education as the regional authority on educational quality and institutional effectiveness.

NWCCU Accreditation Standards

SFU Views


View the 2019-2024 Academic Plan

Plan to attend upcoming town hall sessions about the 2019-2024 Academic Plan:

Monday, November 19
Burnaby Campus
Blusson Hall, room 9660

Friday, November 23
Surrey Campus
SFU Surrey, room 5380

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
(Revised Date)

Vancouver campus
Harbour Centre room 1415

Conference Funds - check here for information and to apply for Conference Funds