Dean of Education

Under academic policy, A13.05, Wade Parkhouse, provost and vice-president academic, pro tem, has formed a committee for the appointment of a new dean, Faculty of Education.

Search Committee Members

Members Conditions Name
Provost Chair Wade Parkhouse
Deans (2) Selected by Deans Angela Brooks-Wilson, Science 
Julia Denholm, Lifelong Learning
Faculty Members (4) Elected by/from Faculty of Education Kumari Beck
Elina Birmingham
Engida Gebre
Angel Lin
Graduate Student (1) Selected by GSS Amrit Cojocaru
Undergraduate Student (1) Selected by SFSS Nikki Kirigin
Support Staff (1) Elected by support staff of Faculty of Education Laura Blazs
Search Support Acting Executive Director, Provost's Office Mary Holmes

Search Committee Timeline

Meeting Date Time
Meeting 1 (Introduction) Thursday, November 24, 2022 3:00-4:30 pm
Open Forum Recording Thursday, December 1, 2022 2:00-3:30 pm
Meeting 2 (Feedback, Candidate Profile) Friday, December 9, 2022 9:00-11:00 am
Meeting 3 (Progress Report) Monday, January 30, 2023 10:30-11:30 am
Meeting 4 (Candidate Report) Wednesday, March 1, 2023 10:00-12:00 pm
First Interviews Wednesday, March 22, 2023 9:00-12:00 pm
Thursday, March 23, 2023 1:00-5:00 pm
Friday, March 24, 2023 9:00-5:00 pm
Meeting 5 (Final Interview Planning) Monday, March 27, 2023 3:30-5:00 pm
Final Interviews Tuesday, April 18, 2023 1:00-5:00 pm
Thursday, April 20, 2023 1:00-5:00 pm
Friday, April 21, 2023 9:00-5:00 pm
Meeting 6 (Decision) Tuesday, May 2, 2023 2:00-4:00 pm

All meetings will be held via Zoom except Final Interviews, which will be held in person at the Burnaby campus.

Candidate Open Forums

Members of the university community were invited to attend or watch recordings of open forums with candidates and provide feedback to the search committee. The search committee thanks those who have provided feedback.


Search Consultants:
For more information on this opportunity, please contact SFU’s search consultants, Danielle Conn, Khaleeda Jamal or Brent Cameron of Boyden, at +1 (604) 685-0261. 

Executive Director
Office of the Provost and Vice-President Academic