Vice-Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies

Under academic policy, A13.05, Wade Parkhouse, provost and vice-president academic, pro tem, has formed a committee for the appointment of a new vice-provost and dean of Graduate Studies.

Search Committee Members

Members Conditions Name
Provost's Designate Chair Jane Pulkingham, Senior Advisor, Academic Affairs
Deans (2) Selected by Deans Naomi Krogman, ENV
Carman Neustaedter, FCAT
Faculty Members (one from each faculty) Elected by/from the respective Faculties Ed Park, FAS
Travers, FASS
Judith Zaichkowsky, BEEDIE
Zoƫ Druik, FCAT
Lucy LeMare, EDUC
Paul Kingsbury, ENV
Frank Lee, HSCI
Vance Williams, SCI
Graduate Students (2) Selected by GSS Reese Muntean
Johnpaul Nwagw
Support Staff (1) Elected by support staff of Dean of Graduate Studies Office Deena Coburn
Search Support Acting Executive Director, Provost's Office Mary Holmes

Search Committee Timeline

Meeting Date Time
Meeting 1 (Introduction) Thursday, November 17, 2022 3:00-4:30 pm
Open Forum recording
Passcode: DeanGS2022
Thursday, November 24, 2022 10:00-11:30 am
Meeting 2 (Feedback, Candidate Profile) Tuesday, December 6, 2022 10:00-12:00 pm
Meeting 3 (Progress Report) Thursday, February 2, 2023 3:00-4:30 pm
Meeting 4 (Candidate Report) Thursday, February 23, 2023 10:00-12:00 pm
First Interviews Monday, March 13, 2023 9:00-5:00 pm
Wednesday, March 15, 2023 1:00-5:00 pm
Meeting 5 (Final Interview Planning) Thursday, March 16, 2023 1:00-2:30 pm
Final Interviews Tuesday, March 28, 2023 1:00-5:00 pm
Thursday, March 30, 2023 1:00-5:00 pm
Friday, March 31, 2023 9:00-12:00 pm
Meeting 6 (Decision) Monday, April 17, 2023 10:00-12:00 pm

All meetings will be held via Zoom except Final Interviews, which will be held in person at the Burnaby campus.

Candidate Open Forums

Members of the university community were invited to attend or watch recordings of open forums with candidates and provide feedback to the search committee. The search committee thanks those who provided feedback. 


Executive Director
Office of the Provost and Vice-President Academic