Office of the President

Andrew Petter, President and Vice-Chancellor

Petter's Perspective: Notes from the President


President’s Awards Recognize Leadership in Sustainability

October 26, 2017

Did you know that Simon Fraser University’s sustainability commitments started with a grass roots movement that emerged in the early 1980’s? Thanks to the advocacy of a group of concerned students and staff, the university began to chart a greener future, and since then has established itself as a sustainability leader.   

SFU’s Vision to be an ‘engaged university’ recognizes our responsibility to “pursue ecological, social and economic sustainability through [our] programs and operations,” and to seek and share solutions through research and community engagement.

From the award winning Zero Waste Initiative, to the student leadership shown by Embark, to the STARS Gold rating we earned in 2014, to the development of a model sustainable community on Burnaby Mountain, SFU has come a long way in demonstrating institutional excellence in sustainability.

Working behind the scenes on each of these and other advancements have been dedicated individuals committed to creating a more sustainable future for the university. Chances are you know some such people who have championed economic, social or ecological sustainability through their work activities or volunteer efforts at SFU.

If so, please nominate one or more for the President’s Awards for Leadership in Sustainability.

The awards recognize a student, a staff member and a faculty member who demonstrate their commitment to creating a cleaner and greener future.

Past award winners include:

  • Environmental Sciences student and president of SFU 350 Tessa Ramburn;
  • Marine conservation scientist, professor Nicholas Dulvey;
  • Staff member and co-founder of the Coquitlam Farmers’ Market Terri Evans.

I look forward to honouring the next trailblazing award recipients during our Annual Awards Gala in March. 

For more information and to submit a nomination please visit the Sustainability Office website. Nominations are open until November 17th.