SFU calls for nominations for honorary degree recipients

June 03, 2021

Know a distinguished individual who personifies SFU’s core values?

Every year, SFU confers honorary degrees on individuals in recognition of their scholarly, scientific, or artistic achievement, or in recognition of exceptional contribution to the public good through professional or philanthropic activity.

The recipients celebrate and personify SFU’s values and serve as an inspiration to our students, graduates and our community.

Some well-known honorary degree recipients, include primatologist Jane Goodall (2018), singer-songwriter Sarah McLachlan (2011), Bill Nye (2015) and the Dalai Lama (2004).

Past recipients have included Nobel Prize winners and Time Magazine’s People of the Year.

Honorary degrees are awarded at the June and October convocations. Among those granted honorary degrees this year include Theresa Tam, Canada’s chief public health officer, actor Michael J. Fox and Maria Ressa, an award-winning journalist, who is leading for the fight for press freedom in the Philippines. You can read more about the amazing 2021 honorary degree recipients here.

SFU’s Senate Committee on University Honors is currently inviting members of the SFU community to nominate deserving people. The deadline for submissions is Sept. 20, 2021.

You can learn more about the nomination and selection process, including what to include in a nomination package, here.

If you have any questions please contact Kathryn Verkerk, Registrar and Secretary to Senate Pro Tem at hdegree@sfu.ca.