Awards and recognition

SFU earth scientist John Clague named to Order of Canada

January 03, 2020

By Diane Mar-Nicolle

Simon Fraser University professor emeritus John Clague is one of 38 new Officers of the Order of Canada. He is being recognized for his national contributions to environmental earth sciences and for his impact on the study of natural hazards, such as earthquakes, tsunamis, landslides and floods.

Clague is a recognized expert on the geological history of Earth that spans the ice age to the present, known as Quaternary science. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a professor emeritus with the Geological Survey of Canada. Clague is also the past Canada Research Chair in Natural Hazard Research and former director of the Centre for Natural Hazard Research at SFU.

Clague’s research on a range of scientific topics has resulted in the publication of more than 200 papers and books and numerous awards and citations. He is a frequent media commentator on worldwide natural disasters. He also engages in numerous outreach events that educate the public about natural hazards and local geology.

Since his retirement, Clague remains active in geological research with projects in Argentina and the European Alps and in consultation projects for private-sector geotechnical companies. An active philanthropist, he is the chair of the board of directors of the Association of Engineers and Geoscientists of B.C. Foundation and is involved in several charities serving children and disadvantaged people in Metro Vancouver.

The Order of Canada was created in 1967. Since then, more than 7,000 people from all walks of life have been invested for their desire to “create a better country.”  The Governor General makes appointments on the recommendation of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada.

Order of Canada

Governor General Julie Payette announced 120 new appointments to the Order of Canada on Jan. 29, 2019. Other people with SFU connections include honorary degree recipients George A. Cohon (Doctor of Laws 2011) and Hugo Eppich (Doctor of Laws 1991), as well as alumni Alain-G. Gagnon (MA 1979) and Lorna Wanosts’a7 Williams (BGS 1982).