SFU President Andrew Petter and Minister of Advanced Education Andrew Wilkinson announce new scholarships to support students in the dual degree Computing Science program offered by Simon Fraser University and China’s Zhejiang University (ZU).


New scholarships support students in award-winning SFU/China program

March 31, 2015

Sixteen new scholarships, valued at $5,000 each, will support students in the Computing Science Dual Degree Program offered by Simon Fraser University and China’s Zhejiang University (ZU).

British Columbia Minister of Advanced Education Andrew Wilkinson made the announcement during a trade mission to China this week to promote B.C.’s priority sectors including education, digital media, clean technology and life sciences.

SFU President Andrew Petter and Applied Sciences Dean Nimal Rajapakse were on hand to sign an agreement to renew the award-winning program offered by SFU and ZU, two of the top-50 computing science universities in the world.

"For almost 30 years SFU has been building educational partnerships and research collaborations in China," says Petter. "As Canada's 'engaged university,' we remain committed to pursuing mutually beneficial opportunities in China that help strengthen B.C.'s ties to the region."

The scholarships will be awarded annually for four years, starting in 2015, to support two Canadian students studying at ZU and two Chinese students studying at SFU. The province and SFU are each providing $40,000 for the British Columbia-Zhejiang Excellence scholarships.

SFU and ZU launched the ground-breaking dual degree program in 2005. It has received two awards for excellence in international education:  the 2013 Canadian Bureau for International Education Panorama Award for Outstanding International Education Program; and the 2012 British Columbia Council for International Education Outstanding Program Award.

During the tour, Petter and others from SFU are scheduled to meet with the National Natural Science Foundation of China, the China Scholarship Council, the Communication University of China and Zhejiang University.