Earth Sciences Burnaby

The Department of Earth Sciences at Simon Fraser University offers programs in geoscience leading to the B.Sc. and B.Sc. (Honours), a Certificate in Forestry Geoscience, a co-operative program, and M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees.

The Department's undergraduate program is centred on core geology requirements but is also broadly based to encourage students to obtain exposure to a wide range of earth science disciplines including the environmental earth sciences. This broad view of earth science is also reflected in the varied opportunities for study at the Masters and Ph.D. levels of our program.

The Department program is field-oriented at all levels, reflecting our philosophy that classroom theory must be firmly coupled to what we see in the field. This connection is assured by the setting of SFU in the heart of the Canadian Cordillera with a mild climate and readily accessible field areas throughout the year (well, as long as you don't mind a little rain!).