Skip to main content

Centres and Institutes

Over 60 research centres and institutes directly contribute to Simon Fraser University's position among Canada’s top universities in research impact. SFU's Research Centres and Institutes support collaborative research to confront key scientific and global challenges, foster creative interaction and stimulate engagement with students and visiting scholars.

Research Institutes

Research Institutes are formally designated non-departmental units that facilitate extensive multi-faculty collaborative research. This research is often enhanced by research relationships with other universities, stakeholders (e.g., government, community or private sector affiliates) or shared resources and infrastructure. The activities of Research Institutes support the strategic research mission of the university.

The following Institutes which have university-wide mandate or a multi-university consortium were established under SFU Policy R40.01 and are under the direct authority of the Associate Vice-President, Research.

    Research Centres

    Research Centres are formally designated, non-departmental units facilitating collaborative research mainly within a single faculty. They may include in their membership SFU researchers from outside of the home faculty. The activities of a Research Centre support the research mission of its home faculty and require the support of its home faculty dean.

    The following centres were established under SFU Policy R40.01 and are under the direct authority of the faculty dean: