Human Rights Policy Board

SFU Human Rights Policy covers:

  • discrimination
  • harassment based on a prohibited ground of discrimination
  • sexual harassment
  • personal harassment
     

Human Rights Policy (GP 18), 5.4The Human Rights Policy Board provides policy advice to the University Secretary, concerning the implementation of the Human Rights Policy and carries out other functions as provided for in the Policy. The Human Rights Policy Board will consist of three faculty members, three staff members, three students (at least one graduate and one undergraduate), and a Chair. 

Human Rights Policy Board Membership

Name Department Local Email Term
Balram, Shivanand Faculty, Geography - SFUFA 23702 sbalram1@sfu.ca August 15, 2016 - August 14, 2022
Cartwright, Barry (Chair) Faculty, Criminology - SFUFA 25524 barry_cartwright@sfu.ca May 14, 2012 - May 12, 2020
Chan, Wendy Faculty, Sociology - SFUFA 24469 wchane@sfu.ca March 16, 2018 - March 15, 2021
Fabian, Sheri (Vice-Chair) Faculty, Criminology - SFUFA 28136 sfabian@sfu.ca February 1, 2013 - January 30, 2020
Hanna, Carolyn Staff, International Services for Students - APSA  27219 carolyn-long@sfu.ca May 1, 2012 - April 29, 2021
Kabdullina, Kristina Student Member, Undergraduate   kristina_kabdullina@sfu.ca April 1, 2019 - March 31, 2020
Malana, Brigitte Student Member, Graduate    bmalana@sfu.ca March 24, 2017 - March 23, 2020
Nyathi, Dione Student Member, Undergraduate   dnyathi@sfu.ca April 1, 2019 - March 31, 2020
Perez, Natalia Sofia Student Member, Graduate   nperez@sfu.ca March 24, 2017 - March 23, 2020
Shapko, Lisa Staff, Audio Visual Services - CUPE  24829 shapko@sfu.ca February 25, 2016 - February 24, 2020
Stoddard, Mitchell Staff, Centre for Accessible Learning  23313 mitchell_stoddard@sfu.ca July 11, 2018 - July 10, 2021
Ghorab, Roya Staff, Human Rights Office, Recording Secretary, Ex-officio (non-voting) 26632 hroadmin@sfu.ca November 1, 2018 - Present

 

Students are appointed for a one-year term.
Faculty and staff are appointed for a three-year term.