Print

Support Black-Owned Businesses Across BC

SFU CED is committed (both as a program and individually amongst our team) to creating a world where every person has access to basic human rights, equal respect as humans, and a sense of place and belonging in every community. Racism has no place in our world. Period. 

It is heartbreaking that the targeting of Black men and women (cis and trans) in the States and Canada continues, along with violence and systemic racism towards Black, Indigenous and People of Color. In order to create societies built on justice and equality, Canada and the U.S. still have deep work to do in transforming systems of oppression that are fueled by white supremacy.

At the time of writing this we mourn for the lives of those who have recently been killed due to police brutality or who have died in the hands of the police: Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, George Floyd, Regis Korchinksi-Paquet, Tony McDade, Manuel Ellis, and David McAtee. We also mourn those who have been killed due to racial and gender violence, Nina Pop and James Scurlock, and for all Black lives that have been lost beforehand due to police brutality and racial violence.

The following is a list of Black-owned businesses in BC that we hope you will support as you look for food, art, goods, and services. This is a small and simple act, but we hope it is one that increases solidarity and support for Canadians of African descent, both now during this obviously difficult time and moving forward.

This list is evolving. If you have additional businesses to add or suggestions on how we could improve it, please contact us. If you are on this list and would like to be removed, please let us know and we will remove your business immediately. 

Thanks everyone. Stay safe and act out of love and care for each other.

SFU CED - Lily, Chief Leanne and Jeremy

Metro Vancouver

Food:

Akeem Pierre https://akeempierre.com/

Axum Ethiopian Restaurant http://www.axumrestaurant.ca/

Auntie Bev's Authentic Caribbean Foods http://www.auntiebevfoods.com/new/

Beetbox https://www.beetboxveg.com/

Big Al’s Soul Food http://www.bigalssoulfood.com/

Calabash Bistro https://www.calabashbistro.com/

Elbo Patties https://www.elbopatties.com/

Farafena https://www.farafena.com/

Harambe https://harambeethiopianrestaurant.com/

I&I Jamaican Restaurant https://www.facebook.com/pages/I-and-I-Jamaican-Restaurant/464422004115590

Juke Chicken http://www.jukefriedchicken.com/

Juice Kadi https://www.instagram.com/juicekadi/

Kula Kitchen https://www.kulakitchen.ca/

Lagos Chop https://lagoschop.com/

The Lion’s Den Café https://www.facebook.com/lionsdencafe.van/

Mumgry https://www.mumgry.com/

Raphael’s Gourmet http://www.raphaelsgourmet.com/

Rehanah's Roti & Trinidadian https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rehanahs-Roti-Shop/166823300017198

Rich Sol Foods https://akeempierre.com/

Riddim & Spice https://www.facebook.com/pages/Riddim-Spice/110129542388239

Salt n Sear Catering http://saltnsearcatering.com/

Taps and Tacos http://www.tapsandtacos.ca/

 

Consulting

Cicely Blain Consulting https://www.cicelyblainconsulting.com/

Creative Together http://creativetogether.ca/

Elevate Inclusion Strategies https://www.elevate-inclusion.com/

Easy Consulting Studio (PR and digital Strategy) https://www.easyconsultingstudio.com/

Lyn Snow Creative https://www.lynsowcreative.com/

Strategem Virtual https://www.welcometostratagem.com/

 

Fashion 

Batiqua https://batiqua.com/

Boostani www.boostani.ca

Bounceback Jewelry https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/BounceBackJewelry

Devi Arts Collectivs deviartscollective.com

Fashion Voice https://fashionvoice.co/

Go2Girl https://yourgo2girl.ca/

Kali Works Online Boutique https://www.kaliworks.com/

Kasoma Designs https://www.etsy.com/shop/KasomaDesigns

Khimia Designs https://khimiadesigns.com/

Mawogan Fashion https://mawogan.ca/

Miscellany Finds https://miscellanyfinds.ca/

Tilda Kimono https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/TildaKimono

West African Fashion https://westafricanfashion.com/

Zigante Designs Boutique https://www.facebook.com/ZiganteDesignsBoutique/

 

Health, Wellness and Beauty

Akeemo Therapy https://www.instagram.com/akeemo.therapy

Breathing Space Bodywork http://www.breathingspacebodywork.ca/about

Chrissy Leyburn Makeup Artist https://www.instagram.com/chrisseyheartsfaces/?hl=en

Chattel House Spa & Wellness Centre https://www.chattelhousespas.com/

Chy Hair Collections https://chyhaircollection.com/

Coast Performance Rehab https://www.coastperformancerehab.com/

Dora Kamau https://www.blissyourheart.ca/

Dyer Fitness Inc. https://www.instagram.com/balancedi/

Ebony Beauty Boutique https://www.facebook.com/ebonybeautyboutiquebc/

Gods Gift Brows https://www.instagram.com/godsgiftbrows/

Gods Gift Coiffure https://www.instagram.com/godsgiftcoiffure/

Kendra Coupland http://www.kendracoupland.com/

Imosé Glam Make-up Artist https://www.facebook.com/ImoseGlam/

Heartquest Addiction Wellness Centre http://www.heartquest.ca/

Lashedxxneeshiiee https://www.instagram.com/lashedxxneeshiiee/?igshid=1ixpmlzbtys4i

Karibu Handcrafted Soaps https://www.instagram.com/karibusoaps/

Masterpiece Purpose and Beauty https://www.facebook.com/masterpiece.210/

Mojo Beauty http://mojobeauty.ca/

Okoko Cosmétiques https://okokocosmetiques.com/

Ora Fitness and Yoga https://orafitnessandyoga.com/

Queen Minks Lashes https://queenminkslashes.ca/

Royals Beauty Supply https://www.facebook.com/RoyalsBeautySupplyAccessories/

Sade Thomas Nutrition https://www.instagram.com/sadethomasosnutrition/

Sherabo Organics https://sheraboorganics-store.com/

Tori Katongo Movement https://www.instagram.com/torifit_movement/

VanaBraids https://www.instagram.com/vanabraids/

 

Retail and Services

Kush Klub https://www.kushklub.ca/

Phase II Auto Detailing https://phaseiiautodetailing.ca/

Q & A Dog Training http://www.qandadogtraining.com/

Softishan https://www.instagram.com/softieshan/

Sutony Renovations https://www.sutonyrenovations.com/

 

Non-Profits, Arts and Community Initiatives

Black Lives Matter Vancouver https://blacklivesmattervancouver.com/

Black Women Connect Vancouver https://blackwomenconnectvancouver.com/

Ethọ́s Lab https://www.ethoslab.space/

Hogan’s Alley Society https://www.hogansalleysociety.org/

Makeshift Workspace https://makeshiftworkspace.com/

National Congress of Black Women Foundation BC https://www.facebook.com/ncbwf/

Victoria

Food

Adamazi Kitchen https://www.instagram.com/adamazi_kitchen/?hl=en

Blue Nile African Restaurant https://www.bluenileafricanrestaurant.com/

Caribbean Village Cafe https://www.facebook.com/CaribbeanVillageCafe/

House of Baoteng https://houseofboateng.ca/corner-market-cafe/

The Local https://thelocalvictoria.com/

Messob Ethiopian Cuisine https://www.messobethiopiancuisine.com/

Mount Tolmie Market https://mount-tolmie-market.business.site/

Island Afrikan Supermarket https://www.facebook.com/IslandAfrikanSupermarket/

Sarpinos at Head & Esquimalt https://sarpinos.ca/

"Stir it Up" Caribbean Restaurant https://www.facebook.com/Stir-it-Up-133468816703389/

Yummy Truck https://www.yummytruck.info/

 

Consulting 

In Gravitas Coaching and Consulting https://www.in-gravitas.com/

Juniper Consulting - Public Sector, Not-for-Profit, First Nations http://juniperconsulting.ca/

Louise Rose Speaker and Musician http://www.lrose.com/

OneLove Consulting https://www.facebook.com/OneLoveDr.G/

Pamela Sylvan https://www.facebook.com/psylvanmojomaker/

 

Fashion and Home Lifestyle

Bask Arts https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/BaskArts

Dellis Made https://www.instagram.com/dellis.made/?hl=en

The Native hub https://www.facebook.com/thenativehub

Udama Fashion Store https://www.facebook.com/UdammaFashion/

 

Health, Wellness and Beauty

C-Lashes https://www.facebook.com/clashess/

Clash of Arrows https://www.facebook.com/clashofarrows

Doula Jay Duncan https://www.doulajay.com/

Luxigrow Hair Products https://luxigrow.com/

Kandé Global Hair Couturièrer http://www.kandeglobalhair.com/

Kulea Love Community Support Services https://www.kulealove.com/

MK Beauty https://www.instagram.com/_mk__beauty/

MoCutz https://mocutz.com

Merge Combat and Fitness https://www.facebook.com/pages/Merge-Combat-Fitness/219201555108619

Rainyday Curiosities https://rainydaycuriosities.com/

Shea Butter Market https://www.sheabuttermarket.com/

Specialized Therapeutic Solutions (STS Pain) https://www.stspain.com/

Who Dyd Your Hair https://www.whodydyourhair.com/

 

Retail and Services

Abigail's Dream Adventures http://www.abigailsdreamadventures.com/

Greenz Painting https://www.greenzpainting.com/

Kiteke Real Estate https://www.kiteke.ca/

Marie Morrison Law Corp https://www.facebook.com/mariemorrisonlawcorp/

Purity Clean https://puritycleanvictoria.com/

Top Leaf https://www.topleaf.ca/

 

Arts and Entertainment

Juda Paemka Photography https://www.judahpaemkaphotography.com/

N8 Images https://www.n8images.ca/

Suburbia Kills Tattoo https://suburbiakills.co/

Strictly Roots Entertainment https://www.facebook.com/strictlyrootsentertainment/

 

Non-Profits and Community Initiatives

African Heritage Association of Vancouver Island https://www.ahavi.ca/

AfriCa-Fest Canada https://vaccsociety.blogspot.com/

Daily Dose Society https://www.thedailydosesociety.org/

Making History Gala http://www.wdyhmakinghistory.com/

Around BC

Kara-Kata Afrobeat Society (Mission) http://karakataafrobeatsociety.com/

Lulu's Apron (Salt Spring Island) https://www.lulusapron.com/

My Black Treasure (Clearwater) https://www.myblacktreasure.com/

Paradise Within Farm (Salt Spring Island) https://www.paradisewithinfarm.com/

SW Creations (Mission) https://www.swcreationsdesign.com/

Thanks to the sources from which some of these names were drawn: Walrus HomeCuriocity, Vancouver Sun, The Straight, Stephanie Sweetam , Kula Kitchen