Terry Fox Gold Medal Award

Pictured are Laura Gutierrez Funderburk and Anne Peirce, the 2019 winners of SFU's Terry Fox Gold Medal.

Simon Fraser University's Terry Fox Gold Medal Award is a prestigious award that includes $5000, a Terry Fox Medal and a plaque.

The award is presented annually at the Terry Fox Run ceremony (Burnaby campus) to an SFU student who has demonstrated courage in the face of adversity and possesses qualities becoming of a role model.

About the award

Terry Fox was a Kinesiology major and a junior varsity basketball player at SFU when he was diagnosed with cancer in 1977. Since Terry's Marathon of Hope in 1980, The Terry Fox Foundation has raised over $700 million for cancer research from annual fundraising walk/run events across Canada and around the world.

The terms of reference for the award are as follows:

“The Terry Fox Gold Medal is awarded to an SFU student who has demonstrated those personal qualities of courage in adversity and dedication to society which have been exemplified by Terry Fox and his Marathon of Hope.”

What does this statement mean?

  • “Courage in adversity” – someone who has shown courage in dealing with a life threatening disease or a significant disability.
  • “Dedication to society” – that person described above who has gone on to help other people in similar situations, and serve as a role model for those people.

How to apply

The award is given to a SFU student. If you are interested in applying, please submit a cover letter and at least one reference letter to Financial Aid and Awards at faawards@sfu.ca. This year's deadline is now closed.

To learn more about this award and past recipients, browse the profiles below!

Terry Fox Gold Medal Recipients

  • 1999 - Candice Odgers
  • 1998 - Gabrielle Girun
  • 1997 - Craig Asmundsen
  • 1996 - (none)
  • 1995 - (none)
  • 1994 - Lynn Ivy Wageler
  • 1993 - Calvin Todd Wong
  • 1992 - Carla Mae Salvail
  • 1991 - Daniel Janzen (deceased)
  • 1990 - Jennifer Ann Miller
  • 1989 - Robert K. Barraclough
  • 1988 - Sherri Lynn Selby
  • 1987 - Mrs. Terry Fowler
  • 1986 - David M. Walton
  • 1985 - Rick Hansen
  • 1984 - (none)
  • 1983 - Laurette C. Yelle
  • 1982 - Derek Isobe/Denice Holst
  • 1981 - (none)
  • 1980 - Terry Fox