flagsThe SFU Board of Governors has 15 members including the Chancellor, the President, 2 elected faculty members, 2 elected students, 1 elected staff member, and 8 individuals appointed by the Government of the Province of British Columbia.

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is the senior governing body at Simon Fraser University constituted under the University Act.  SFU Board members do not receive any remuneration for their services to the Board. The overall responsibility for the business of the University (property, revenue and policies) is vested in the Board. (The academic governance of the University is vested in the Senate).

The Board meets six times a year on Thursdays.  Please consult the meeting schedule for dates and times.  The Open Session portions of the meetings are open to the public.

If you have any questions about the Board and its work, please call 778.782.4644.

The University was named after explorer Simon Fraser and opened in September 1965. SFU has been ranked either first or second among comprehensive universities in the Maclean's rankings in the past six years, and has been the leader 10 times since Maclean's started its rankings 21 years ago.