Welcome

The Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies at Simon Fraser University welcomes students interested in the study of women, gender, sexuality, and feminism. The department’s interdisciplinary degree programs and faculty offer courses in a wide range of subject areas in the social sciences, humanities, natural/applied sciences, and contemporary arts.

Why Study Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies?

Watch the "Why Study Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies?" YouTube video featuring Dr. Lara Campbell, Dr. Coleman Nye and Dr. Habiba Zaman.

Student Success Story

The Dean's office of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences is proud to announce the Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee have selected the following Convocation Medal recipients for 2016 Spring Convocation:

Robert C. Brown Award:

    Laura Scheck - BA, Major in Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies

On behalf of GSWS, congratulations on your award, Laura. It is most well-deserved.

Current Events

  • January 11, 2017
    Robert Bittner PhD Thesis Defence
    Theorizing Trans Readership: Examining Ways of Reading Trans Themed Young Adult Literature
  • December 14, 2016
    Mary Shearman PhD Thesis Defence
    A “Minor League Equivalent to the Eiffel Tower and the Empire State Building”: Vancouver’s Penthouse Nightclub
  • December 05, 2016
    GSWS Grad School Info Session
    Thinking about Graduate School? Come to an informal Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies information session on the MA and PhD programs. Meet Department Chair Lara Campbell and Graduate Secretary Kathryn Hunter for a brief overview of the grad school experience. Plenty of time for questions and conversation!
  • November 28, 2016
    Elizabeth Manning PhD Thesis Defence
    The Treatment as Prevention® Empire: HIV Treatment Adherence as the New War on AIDS

Media

Helen Leung, Associate Professor from the Dept of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies

Interview (in Cantonese) on Gender Diversity

Monday Forum, hosted by B.C. Lee <http://www.lstimes.ca/en/monday-forum/>

 

The episode will air during the following times and later archived on the above website
Mon Oct 31, at 8 PM PST / 11 PM EST
Tues Nov 1, at 10 AM PST / 1 PM EST
Sat Nov 5, at 6 PM PST / 9 PM EST

New Westminster Record article regarding the Rosemary Brown Award and Dawn Black.

Former New West MP and MLA Dawn Black receives award