Current Lab Members

Dr. Gerhard J. GriesProfessor
gries@sfu.ca

NSERC-Industrial Research Chair in
Multimodal Animal Communication Ecology
Dr. forest., Georg-August-Universität, Göttingen (Germany)

I am a genuinely curious fellow and consider it my hobby to run a large and diverse research program with many bright and enthusiastic students.  Other hobbies are wildflower gardening and wildlife photography.

Research Associates

Dr. Santosh Kumar AlamsettiPostdoctoral Researcher
santoshchem2020@gmail.com

Syntheses of novel or non-purchasable semiochemicals; development of efficient or large scale syntheses of semiochemicals for applied purposes.

Dr. Stephen (Steve) TakácsResearch Associate
stakacs@sfu.ca

Acquisition and analyses of sonic and ultrasonic sound signals and cues; recordings and analyses of infrared (IR) foraging cues; laboratory and field testing of novel bait technologies.

Regine GriesResearch Associate
mgries@sfu.ca

Isolation and identification of candidate semiochemicals; electrophysiology; technical assistance in student projects; maintenance of laboratory equipment and vehicles.

Dr. Adam BlakePostdoctoral Researcher
ajblake@sfu.ca

Visual ecology of biting flies. more...

Graduate Students

Asim RenyardPh.D.
asim_renyard@sfu.ca

Foraging and communication ecology of the Carpenter Ant, Camponotus modoc. more...

Elana VarnerPh.D.
evarner@sfu.ca

Intra- and interspecies chemical ecology of murine rodents. more...

Andreas FischerPh.D.
afischer@sfu.ca

The chemical communication in False Black Widow Spiders (Steatoda)

Elton KoM.P.M.
eltonk@sfu.ca

Mating ecology of Mosquitos

Jaime ChalisseryM.P.M.
jchaliss@sfu.ca

Foraging and communication ecology of Fire Ants

Sam Meraj M.P.M.
sanam_meraj@sfu.ca

Immune response in Bed Bugs

Emily LemkeM.P.M.
emily_lemke@sfu.ca

Communications ecology of Click Beetles

Kendal Singleton M.P.M.
kendal_singleton@sfu.ca

Visual and chemical ecology of Click Beetles

Emmanuel Hung M.P.M.
emmanuel_hung@sfu.ca

Host-seeking and visual communication in biting flies

Saif Nayani M.P.M.
saif_nayani@sfu.ca

Foraging ecology of stable flies

Claire Gooding M.P.M.
claire_gooding@sfu.ca

Repellent semiochemicals of ticks and biting flies

Emma Kovacs M.P.M.
emma_kovacs@sfu.ca

Foraging ecology of horn flies