PDA Executive Council

While all SFU Postdoctoral Fellows are considered members of the Postdoctoral Association, some of them take a more active role within the association. They represent the interest of Postdoctoral Fellows to the SFU administration, organize activities, and support Postdoctoral Fellows in other ways. The current elected members are listed below.

2022-2023 Executive Council

PDA Executive Council President

Dr. Eric Jones
Department of Physics

Eric is a postdoc studying how stochasticity affects the microbiome, and is a member of the Sivak Group in the Physics Department at SFU. He enjoys hiking in the mountains, having conversations, and staying up late. He is extremely excited to be a part of the SFU postdoc community.


Dr. Vera Lucci
Department of Biomedical Physiology and Kinesiology

Vera is a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Biomedical Physiology and Kinesiology (BPK). Her work examines the role of the autonomic nervous system in syncope (fainting). Vera moved to BC in 2016 to her pursue graduate studies at SFU. During her graduate studies she served as President of BPK Graduate Caucus and held several service roles both within the university and her field of research. These roles have equipped to serve her fellow postdocs as VP Policy. Outside of research, Vera can often be found in an independent bookstore, rock climbing, or skiing.

Dr. Padmapriya Muralidharan
Department of Biomedical Physiology and Kinesiology

Priya Muralidharan is a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Biomedical Physiology and Kinesiology studying ion channel biophysics using induced pluripotent stem cell-derived cardiomyocytes with Prof Thomas Claydon. She pursued her Ph.D. at the University of Western Australia and moved to Memphis, USA for her first postdoc, and then moved to Canada for her second postdoc in November 2019. Having lived in different countries she definitely can appreciate the challenges of any international postdocs. She joined the SFU-Postdoctoral association to meet, help and represent fellow postdocs at the Canadian Association of Postdoctoral Scholars.

Dr. Diana Hunter,
Biomedical Physiology and Kinesiology, T. Claydon lab

Dr. Michael (Mike) Kelly

These elected members are supported in their endeavors by a number of active members. We are always happy to welcome additional active members, so if you would like to contribute to the SFU Postdoctoral Association please be in touch with one of us or e-mail us at sfu_pda@sfu.ca.

As a Postdoctoral Fellowship can be over and done with in a relatively short time, from time to time Executive Council members move on to other challenges and places. 

Previous Executive Councils