• The President
  • President’s Distinguished Community Leadership Award

President’s Distinguished Community Leadership Award

Dr. Joy Johnson, SFU's 10th president and vice-chancellor, invites members of the community to nominate an individual, individuals or organization meriting the President’s Distinguished Community Leadership Award (DCLA). The award is presented annually at a special celebratory event.

The President’s DCLA is awarded to an exceptional individual(s) or organization for their outstanding philanthropy and their distinguished contributions to SFU and the public good within the community. Award recipients share SFU’s commitment to Reconciliation, education, learning and growth—and creating an equitable, diverse and inclusive society for all.

Nominations are considered by the President’s DCLA Selection Committee, comprised of SFU’s President, Vice-President Advancement & Alumni Engagement, and select Award recipients from the past three years. The President may opt to include other advisors on the Committee from time to time at their discretion.

Learn more about the award and how to submit a nomination.