Seminars

To subscribe/unsubscribe to the SFU Archaeology Seminar mailing list, send an email to maillist@sfu.ca with a subject of either: subscribe arch-seminar or unsubscribe arch-seminar

Archaeology SPRING 2023 Seminar

Brought to you by Dr. Francesco Berna

Seminar is held in person in the Archaeology Seminar Room, SWH 9152

Date Speaker Title

Thu, January 12

Kristen Barnett (in-person)
UBC – Anthropology

 

An’gikik Indigenous archaeology with Tuyuryaq

Thu, January 19

Tom Beasley (in-person)
Vancouver Maritime Museum

 

The History, Evolution, and Future of Underwater Archaeology in Canada

Thu, January 26

Nicholas Hedley (in-person)
SFU – Geography

 

Mapping the Mammisi: digitally recording graffiti and structures at the Temple of Isis at Philae

Thu, February 2

Holly Cusack-McVeigh (remote)
Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) Anthropology

 

Confronting a History of Grave Robbing and Looting: Repatriation as Restorative Justice

If you are not able to make it to campus, please join us on Zoom:
https://sfu.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Qj6RlviKQa6y1OBsvGFKlA 

Thu, February 9

Heather Robertson (in-person)
UBC – Anthropology

 

Shape analysis, landmark analysis, and estimating skeletal sex from fragmented coxal bones

Thu, February 16

Briana Pobiner (remote)
Smithsonian Institution National Museum of Natural History

The Role of Scavenging in Human Evolution

Thu, February 23

Reading Break - No Speaker

Thu, March 2

Dana Lepofsky (in-person)
SFU - Archaeology

The Xwe’etay/Lasqueti Archaeology Project: Protecting and Honouring Indigenous Heritage Through Community-Centered Research

Thu, March 9

David Howes (remote)
Concordia University - Sociology and Anthropology

How Archaeologists Came to their Senses

Thu, March 16

Darcy Mathews (in-person)
UVic - Environmental Studies

(Tentative title) Ethnoecology of Central and Southern British Columbia Coast

Thu, March 23

Neha Gupta (in-person)
UBC Okanagan - Anthropology

Anti-colonial Digital Archaeology in the Canadian Context

Thu, March 30

Jessica Pilarzcyk (in-person)
SFU - Earth Science

Coastal Sedimentary Archives of Prehistoric Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Storms

Thu, April 6

Elroy White (in-person)
Central Coast Archaeology

(Tentative title) Haíłzaqv Nation Archaeology

Past Seminars