People

Sandman Picket 1975 - Pacific Tribune archive

Meet the dedicated people at the heart of our program

Anushay Malik

Lecturer

anushaym@sfu.ca

Jeannie Morgan

Assistant Professor,
The Department of First Nations Studies with affiliation in the Labour Studies Program

jeannie_morgan@sfu.ca

 

Kendra Strauss

Associate Professor

Director (on sabbatical leave)

kstrauss@sfu.ca

Administration 

John Calvert

Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

Acting Director, Fall 2019

Sylvia Chow

Manager, Academic & Administrative Services
E: samgr@sfu.ca
T: 778-782-3726

Jeanne Persoon

Secretary to the Director
E: sachrsec@sfu.ca
T: 778-782-3144

Melanie Trotto

Undergraduate Program Assistant & Financial Assistant
E: saugrdpa@sfu.ca
T: 778-782-9821

Gabe Wong

Coordinator, Communications & Events
E: sacomm@sfu.ca

Terrence Yang

Undergraduate Student Advisor
E: saadvise@sfu.ca  
T: 778-782-9452

Sessional instructors

Fall 2019

Course Offerings

Serdar Kaya

Sessional Instructor

serdar_kaya@sfu.ca

Associate members and steering committee

Enda Brophy

Associate Professor, School of Communication

enda_brophy@sfu.ca

Carolyn Lesjak

Associate Professor, Department of English

clesjak@sfu.ca

John Calvert

Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

jrc@sfu.ca

Malcolm Steinberg

Clinical Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

malcolm_steinberg@sfu.ca

Jeff Derksen

Professor, Department of English

jderksen@sfu.ca
 

Habiba Zaman

Professor, Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies

hzaman@sfu.ca

Advisory committee

Why do we have Advisory and Steering committees? Watch this video to find out more.

Chair of advisory committee: Jim Sinclair
In memoriam, Margaret Morgan

Advisory Committee Members

  • Janet Andrews, Secretary Treasurer, New Westminster & District Labour Council (NW&DLC); member of International Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers (IAMAW) Local Lodge 764
  • Brynn Bourke, Executive Director, BC Federation of Labour
  • Marjorie Griffin Cohen, Professor Emerita, Department of Political Science and Department of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies, Simon Fraser University
  • George A. Davison, President, Federation of Post-Secondary Educators (FPSE); past president, National Union of the Canadian Association of University Teachers (NUCAUT); past president of the Faculty Association of the College of New Caledonia
  • Joey Hartman, past president, Vancouver and District Labour Council
  • Jim Iker, past president, BC Teachers’ Federation (BCTF)
  • Am Johal, Director, Simon Fraser University's Vancity Office of Community Engagement
  • Blair Redlin, retired research representative, Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE); former B.C. Deputy Minister
  • Jim Sinclair, past president, BC Federation of Labour. Chair of the Labour Studies advisory committee.
  • Cathy Walker, past director, Canadian Auto Workers (CAW), now Unifor, Health, Safety and Environment Department (retired)  
  • Jennifer Whiteside, Secretary-Business Manager, Hospital Employees’ Union (HEU)                   

Adjunct Professor

Policy