People

Sandman Picket 1975 - Pacific Tribune archive

Meet the dedicated people at the heart of our program

Faculty

Kendra Strauss

Director and Associate Professor

kstrauss@sfu.ca

John Irwin

Lecturer

jirwin@sfu.ca

Jeannie Morgan

Assistant Professor,
jointly appointed with the Department of First Nations Studies

jeannie_morgan@sfu.ca

 

Staff

Sylvia Chow

Manager, Academic & Administrative Services
E: samgr@sfu.ca
T: 778-782-3726

Terrence Yang

Undergraduate Student Advisor
E: saadvise@sfu.ca  
T: 778-782-9452

Jeanne Persoon

Secretary to the Director
E: sachrsec@sfu.ca
T: 778-782-3144

Melanie Trotto

Undergraduate Program Assistant & Financial Assistant
E: saugrdpa@sfu.ca
T: 778-782-9821

Brenda Wang (Acting)

Office Administration
E: gradsecsa@sfu.ca
T: 778-782-3518

Sessional instructors

Spring 2019

Course Offerings

Associate members and steering committee

Enda Brophy

Associate Professor, School of Communication

ebrophy@sfu.ca

Carolyn Lesjak

Associate Professor, Department of English

clesjak@sfu.ca

John Calvert

Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

jrc@sfu.ca

Malcolm Steinberg

Clinical Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

malcolm_steinberg@sfu.ca

Jeff Derksen

Professor, Department of English

jderksen@sfu.ca
 

Habiba Zaman

Professor, Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies

hzaman@sfu.ca

Advisory committee

Why do we have Advisory and Steering committees? Watch this video to find out more.

Chair of advisory committee: Jim Sinclair
In memoriam, Margaret Morgan

Advisory Committee Members

  • Janet Andrews, Secretary Treasurer, New Westminster & District Labour Council (NW&DLC); member of International Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers (IAMAW) Local Lodge 764
  • Brynn Bourke, Director of Campaigns and Policy, BC Building Trades
  • Lynn Bueckert, Assistant to the President, BC Federation of Labour
  • Marjorie Griffin Cohen, Professor Emerita, Department of Political Science and Department of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies, Simon Fraser University
  • George A. Davison, President, Federation of Post-Secondary Educators (FPSE); past president, National Union of the Canadian Association of University Teachers (NUCAUT); past president of the Faculty Association of the College of New Caledonia
  • Joey Hartman, past president, Vancouver and District Labour Council
  • Jim Iker, past president, BC Teachers’ Federation (BCTF)
  • Am Johal, Director, Simon Fraser University's Vancity Office of Community Engagement
  • Ken Novakowski, Chair, BC Labour Heritage Centre; past president, BC Teachers’ Federation (BCTF)            
  • Blair Redlin, retired research representative, Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE); former B.C. Deputy Minister
  • Jim Sinclair, past president, BC Federation of Labour
  • Cathy Walker, past director, Canadian Auto Workers (CAW), now Unifor, Health, Safety and Environment Department (retired)  
  • Jennifer Whiteside, Secretary-Business Manager, Hospital Employees’ Union (HEU)