People

Sandman Picket 1975 - Pacific Tribune archive

Meet the dedicated people at the heart of our program

Jeannie Morgan

Assistant Professor,
Department of First Nations Studies and Labour Studies Program
jeannie_morgan@sfu.ca

 

Kendra Strauss

Associate Professor,
Director (on sabbatical leave)
kstrauss@sfu.ca

Administration 

Habiba Zaman

Professor, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
Acting Director, Spring 2020
lbstdir@sfu.ca

Sylvia Chow

Manager, Academic & Administrative Services
samgr@sfu.ca
778-782-3726

Jeanne Persoon

Secretary to the Director
sachrsec@sfu.ca
778-782-3144

Melanie Trotto

Undergraduate Program Assistant & Financial Assistant
saugrdpa@sfu.ca
778-782-9821

Terrence Yang

Undergraduate Student Advisor
saadvise@sfu.ca  
778-782-9452

Sessional instructors

Katie Gravestock

CODE Supervision
katie_gravestock@sfu.ca

Associate members and steering committee

Enda Brophy

Associate Professor, School of Communication
enda_brophy@sfu.ca

John Calvert

Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences
jrc@sfu.ca

Jeff Derksen

Professor, Department of English
jderksen@sfu.ca

 

Carolyn Lesjak

Associate Professor, Department of English
clesjak@sfu.ca

Jeannie Morgan

Assistant Professor,
Department of First Nations Studies and Labour Studies Program
jeannie_morgan@sfu.ca

Kendra Strauss

Associate Professor,
Labour Studies Program
kstrauss@sfu.ca

Malcolm Steinberg

Clinical Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences
malcolm_steinberg@sfu.ca

Habiba Zaman

Professor, Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies
hzaman@sfu.ca

Advisory committee

Why do we have Advisory and Steering committees? Watch this video to find out more.

Chair of advisory committee: Jim Sinclair
In memoriam, Margaret Morgan

Advisory Committee Members

  • Janet Andrews, Secretary Treasurer, New Westminster & District Labour Council (NW&DLC); member of International Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers (IAMAW) Local Lodge 764
  • Brynn Bourke, Executive Director, BC Federation of Labour
  • Marjorie Griffin Cohen, Professor Emerita, Department of Political Science and Department of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies, Simon Fraser University
  • Joey Hartman, Chair, BC Labour Heritage Centre
  • Jim Iker, past president, BC Teachers’ Federation (BCTF)
  • Am Johal, Director, Simon Fraser University's Vancity Office of Community Engagement
  • Blair Redlin, retired research representative, Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE); former B.C. Deputy Minister
  • Jim Sinclair, past president, BC Federation of Labour. Chair of the Labour Studies advisory committee.
  • Cathy Walker, past director, Canadian Auto Workers (CAW), now Unifor, Health, Safety and Environment Department (retired)  
  • Jennifer Whiteside, Secretary-Business Manager, Hospital Employees’ Union (HEU)