Presidential Reappointment Review

The Board of Governors is thriled to confirm that Dr. Joy Johnson will continue as President and Vice-Chancellor of Simon Fraser University until August 31, 2030. 

Read Board Chair Angie Lamarsh's letter to the community here, and a summary of the process here

Simon Fraser University’s Board of Governors has embarked on the re-appointment review process for incumbent president, Dr. Joy Johnson. President Joy Johnson’s current term is from Sept. 1, 2020 to Aug. 31, 2025.

At SFU, university presidents are selected for a term of five years. If both the president and the Board of Governors are interested in extending the position, the re-appointment review process is launched for a second five-year term. 

The re-appointment review process, which is expected to take two months, will include broad consultation across the university and with appropriate external constituents. It will also include meetings with the incumbent, vice-presidents, and deans. Through several consultation initiatives there will be opportunity for students, faculty and staff to provide feedback on President Johnson’s work to date. All feedback will then be reviewed by the re-appointment review committee. 

This process is led by Angie Lamarsh, Chair, SFU Board of Governors. 

If you have any questions about the review process, please contact Angie at

Learn more about Dr. Joy Johnson.