Current Conditions:

Campus roads are

Burnaby Campus Status:
   or follow @SFU on Twitter.

For transit updates:
   or follow @translink on Twitter

For more details:
SFU Road Conditions.

Staff Recognition

Leanne Dalton Working with Passion Staff Award

The Leanne Dalton Award of $500 is presented annually to an SFUCCS Educator who has displayed particular dedication to the Society’s values. Award recipients are nominated by their peers, and are judged on their positive, collaborative, and respectful relationships with children, families and colleagues of SFUCCS, as well as demonstrating commitment to the SFUCCS mission, vision and core values. Prior to 2017, this award was funded solely by donations. The 2016/2017 Board reiterated the value of this prestigious award by approving a set amount of $500 annually to ensure its viability and continuation.

The selection criteria include demonstrated commitment to the mission and values of SFUCCS, and particular dedication in the areas listed below:

SFUCCS Mission Statement

  • To champion early learning and care that is intentional, inclusive, sustainable, and responsive.

SFUCCS Value Statements:

  • We have respect for, value and have acceptance of others at the heart of all we do.
  • Within our SFUCCS community we listen, practice reciprocity, live and learn together, we have a strong foundation to grow equitably and responsively.
  • We seek collaboration and diverse perspectives while learning from and contributing to a broader childcare community.

2023 Leanne Dalton Award Recipients:  Brittany Johnston

Margaret MacDonald Grant for Early Childhood Education Research

SFUCCS recognizes the importance of ongoing professional development in helping Educators to remain at the forefront of research and developments in their field. Established in 2015, this grant is awarded annually to an Educator who has demonstrated a committment to professional development. Candidates submit a proposal outlining intended use of the funds and benefit to the greater Society, from which a panel selects the recipient.

2023 Margaret MacDonald Grant Recipients:  Brittany Johnston

2023 SFUCCS Long Service Awards:

10 Years: Jacqueline Ewonus, Rebecca Ann Sung