Going to Glasgow: What’s On for our Dialogue Delegates at COP26

October 21, 2021

In a little over a week, SFU’s Morris J. Wosk Centre for Dialogue will join thousands of delegates from around the world for the 2021 United Nations Climate Change Conference in Glasgow, UK. It will be the 26th time the UN has convened the Conference of Parties (COP26) to address the climate emergency. Dialogue at COP26 will be integral to moving climate action towards net zero carbon emissions and keeping global temperature increase below 1.5°C.

International Climate Engagement Network at COP26

To accelerate climate action, we need to listen and respond to citizen voices. As a platform to highlight success stories in climate engagement, the International Climate Engagement Network (ICEN) was created to support governments to do just that. To support this work, we’ve created a report that outlines innovations and challenges for advancing the field of climate engagement. We’ll be bringing copies with us to Glasgow, but you can read it online too. ICEN’s presence at COP26 will help create more participatory relationships between governments and the communities they serve.

We will be hosting the following events:

From Gibsons to Glasgow: Local Leadership towards COP26 (Virtual Workshop)
Date: Oct 28
Time: 10 am Vancouver / 1 pm Ottawa / 6 pm Glasgow
Register: Join us on Zoom

Live from Glasgow: Climate Engagement for Systems Change (Virtual Workshop)
Date: Nov 9
Time: 8:30 am New York / 1:30 pm Glasgow / 8:30 pm Bangkok
Register: Join us on Zoom

Tackling climate change needs civil society: Insights on public engagement for climate action - In partnership with CAST and the Tyndall Centre
Date: Nov 10
Time: 10:30 am Vancouver / 1:30 pm Ottawa / 6:30 pm Glasgow
Registration details to follow

Cities on the Road to Glasgow

Cities are essential partners if Canada and countries around the world are to meet their international emissions reductions commitments. Effective climate action requires a combination of resident support, government strategy, multi-stakeholder collaboration and sustained effort over time. COP26 provides a key opportunity to spotlight the work and strengthen the collective voice of Canadian cities in addressing global climate change.

We will be hosting the following events:

City-Focused Daily Briefings from COP26 - hosted by Shauna Sylvester and featuring a fireside chat hosted by Moving in a Livable Region’s Jude Crasta
Date: Daily from Nov 1 to 11 (excluding Nov 4 and 6)
Registration details to follow

Multi-Level Climate Action Panel and the Role of Canadian Cities on Climate
Date: Nov 4
Time: 9:30 am Vancouver / 12:30 pm Ottawa / 4:30 pm Glasgow
Registration details to follow

Shauna Sylvester will participate as a panelist at CUI’s CityTalk events:

Why should cities care about COP?
Date: October 28, 2021
Time: 9 am Vancouver / 12 pm Ottawa / 5 pm Glasgow
Registration details to follow

What actions came out of COP26 for cities?
Date: Nov 18
Time: 9 am Vancouver / 12 pm Ottawa / 5 pm Glasgow
Registration details to follow

And, you can find us at the conference attending these events:

New York Times Climate Hub - Nov 3-11

Will we see you at COP26? Send us an email and let’s connect!