Aboriginal Steering Committee

Below is a list of the members of the Aboriginal Steering Committee for Simon Fraser University. This committee list includes on-campus members — senior administration, faculty, staff, elder(s), and student representation — as well as, off-campus community members from Aboriginal organizations, local First Nations, and government. This list will be amended as required/requested when committee members change.

In no particular order, the current Aboriginal Steering Committee for Simon Fraser University is composed of the following members:

On-Campus Aboriginal Steering Committee Members:

  • Professor Andrew Petter, President & Vice Chancellor. 
  • Dr. Jon Driver, Vice President-Academic and Provost.
  • Dr. Joanne Curry, Vice President-External.
  • Ms. Rummana Khan Hemani, Vice Provost & Associate Vice President-Students.
  • Mr. Ron Johnston, Acting Director, Pro Tem, Office for Aboriginal Peoples.
  • Mr. Gary George, Officer for Community Relations and Ms. Karen Matthews, Administrative Assistant, Office for Aboriginal Peoples (Secretary/Recorder, Aboriginal Steering Committee). 
  • Dr. Deanna Reder, Chair, Indigenous Studies Department
  • Dr. Jennifer Spear, Associate Professor, Chair, (Faculty of History Representative)      
  • Dr. Glenn Chapman, Director, School of Engineering Science (Faculty of Applied Sciences representative).
  • tba (Faculty of Business representative).
  • Dr. Mary Catherine Kropinski (Faculty of Science representative).
  • Dr. Vicki Kelly, Associate Professor, Faculty of Education (Faculty of Education faculty representative), Director, Indigenous Research Institute.
  • Jennie Blankinship, Acting Director, Office for Indigenous Education, Faculty of Education  (Faculty of Education administrative representative).
  • Nicole Manson, Indigenous Academic & Student Liaison (Faculty of Communication, Art & Technology representative).
  • Dr. Cliff Atleo (Faculty of Environment representative).
  • Elder's representative (rotating).
  • Ms. Marcia Guno, Director, Indigenous Student Centre (Indigenous Student Centre representative).
  • Ms. Judy Smith, Director, Community Education Programs, Life Long Learning (Community Education Programs, Lifelong Learning representative).
  • Ms. Jenna Walsh, Indigenous Initiatives Librarian, SFU Library (SFU Library representative).
  • First Nations Student Association (Two positions - rotates annually). 
  • Dr. Jeff Derksen, Dean, Graduate Studies

Off-Campus/Community Aboriginal Steering Committee Members:

  • Dr. John Borrows, Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Law, University of Victoria and Visiting Professor, SFU Faculty of Business.
  • Ms. Lyn Daniels, Aboriginal District Principal, Surrey School District.
  • Ms. Lisa Paull, Post Secondary Student Advocate, Squamish Nation.
  • Ms. Angela George, Director of Community Development, Tsleil-Waututh Nation.
  • Ms. Tammy Harkey, Councillor, Musqueam Nation.

Note: Any questions concerning the committee can be directed to Mr. Ron Johnston, Acting Director, Office for Aboriginal Peoples & Chair, Aboriginal Steering Committee, Simon Fraser University (at ronaldj@sfu.ca).