Honorary Degree Recipients


Fall Convocation Honorary Degree Recipients
October , 2015


Harry B. Gray, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

Harry Gray, a prize-winning chemist who is the Arnold O. Beckman Professor of Chemistry and founding director of the Beckman Institute at the California Institute of Technology.


Sut Jhally, Doctor of Fine Arts, honoris causa

Sut Jhally, an award-winning professor of communication at the University of Massachusetts, executive director of the Media Education Foundation, and a prolific filmmaker and author. 


Bill Nye, Doctor of Science, honoris causa  

Bill Nye, scientist, educator, and television performer “Bill Nye the Science Guy,” is CEO of The Planetary Society, and was recognized in 2010 with the Humanist of the Year Award from the American Humanist Association. 


Nancy J. Turner, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

Nancy Turner, an acclaimed ethnobotanist and ethnoecologist who has collaborated with First Nations peoples for more than 40 years to document, retain, and promote their traditional knowledge of plants and habitats.

Spring Convocation Honorary Degree Recipients
June 9, 10, 11, & 12, 2015


Jennifer Allen Simons, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Jennifer Allen Simons, an award-winning educator, thought leader, and nuclear disarmament specialist is founder and president of The Simons Foundation, which aims to advance positive change through education on peace, disarmament, international law and human security. 


Nini Baird, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Nini Baird, chair of the Knowledge Network Corporation Board, the TELUS Fund and the TELUS Vancouver Community Board, and a member of the Order of Canada, who was recognized in 2013 as one of Canada’s 100 most powerful women.


Lorna Crozier, Doctor of Letters, honoris causa

Lorna Crozier, an award-winning poet, essayist, and professor emerita who has authored 18 poetry books and two children’s books, and is a member of the Royal Society of Canada, and an officer of the Order of Canada. 


Meeru Dhalwala and Vikram Vij, Doctors of Laws, honoris causa

Meeru Dhalwala and Vikram Vij, the team behind three award-winning Metro Vancouver restaurants, including the world renowned Vij’s Restaurant. They have co-authored two acclaimed cookbooks and are active in sustainable agriculture and business mentorship.


Judy Graves, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Judy Graves, Vancouver’s first advocate for the homeless, is a humanitarian who has devoted her life to bringing a safe home, nutritious food, and clean water to those in need. 


Maggie Ip, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Maggie Ip, an award-winning teacher and volunteer who is the founding chair and now patron of S.U.C.C.E.S.S., one of Canada’s largest multilingual and multicultural social service organizations.


Ken Lum, Doctor of Fine Arts, honoris causa

Ken Lum, an artist, educator and SFU alumnus who is renowned worldwide for his conceptual and representational art, including the iconic Monument for East Vancouver that overlooks False Creek Flats.


Deepa Mehta, Doctor of Fine Arts, honoris causa

Deepa Mehta, an Oscar-nominated screenwriter, director and producer whose work in film has attracted significant recognition, including the Governor General’s award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement, the Order of Ontario, and the Order of Canada.



For more information, contact Ceremonies and Events at invite@sfu.ca

Last update: Thursday, November 20, 2015