Contact Finance

The Department of Finance is located at Strand Hall 3000, Strand Hall Annex and Discovery 2.

Mailing Address:
8888 University Drive
Burnaby, BC
V5A 1S6

Fax Number: (778)782-4009

Charitable Return #11852 0725 RR0001

Courier/Visitor:
Strand Hall 3000
8888 University Drive
Burnaby, BC V5A 1S6

Hours:  Monday -Friday
              08:00-16:30
              Weekends & Holidays: Closed

Executive Team

Alison Blair
Associate Vice-President Finance
(778) 782-7581
alison_blair@sfu.ca
 
Mary Aylesworth
Director, Financial Operations
(778) 782-3256
mary_aylesworth@sfu.ca
 
Larry Guthrie
Director, Financial Services
(778) 782-4708
larry_guthrie@sfu.ca
 
Janis Kennedy
Director, Budget Office
(778) 782-3233
janis_kennedy@sfu.ca
 
Scott Penney
Director, Planning & Analysis
(778) 782-7513
scott_penney@sfu.ca 
 
Jacky Shen
Director, Treasury
(778) 782-4017
jack_shen@sfu.ca
 
Michael Strang
Director, University Projects
(778) 782-9030
mstrang@sfu.ca
 
Jimmy Wong
Associate Director, Financial Services
(778) 782-6975
jimwong@sfu.ca
 

Finance Assistants

Melissa Fiorucci
Vice-President Assistant
(778) 782-4006
melissa_fiorucci@sfu.ca
 
Ana Niembro
Adminstrative Assistant
(778) 782-4007
aniembro@sfu.ca
 
Bal Shergill
Associate Vice-President Assistant
(778) 782-4015
bal_shergill@sfu.ca
 

Financial Services

Hours:  Monday -Friday
              08:00-16:30
              Weekends & Holidays: Closed
finance@sfu.ca

Larry Guthrie
Director, Financial Services
(778) 782-4708
larry_guthrie@sfu.ca
 
Jimmy Wong
Associate Director, Financial Services
(778) 782-6975
jimwong@sfu.ca
 
Korina Chu
Student Financial Director
(778) 782-5384
chingc@sfu.ca
 
Mary Aylesworth
Director, Financial Operations
(778) 782-3256
mary_aylesworth@sfu.ca
 
Leeann Liew
Manager, Research Accounting
(778) 782-8092
lhliew@sfu.ca
 
Kari Sampson
Senior Business Analyst, Financial Services
(778) 782-4021
karis@sfu.ca
 
Bal Shergill
Project Coordinator, Financial Services
(778) 782-4015
bal_shergill@sfu.ca
 
Lisa Wood
Senior Financial Analyst, Financial Services
(778) 782-8541
ljw3@sfu.ca
 

Financial Reporting

Banking queries and help: banking_transactions@sfu.ca  

SAM queries and help: finauth@sfu.ca 

FAST queries and help: finshelp@sfu.ca 

GL journal data entry: journals@sfu.ca 

Jimmy Wong
Associate Director
(778) 782-6975   
jimwong@sfu.ca
Financial reporting leadership
CAUBO report, chartfield governance: object codes    
Reporting    
Debbie Schmaltz
Senior Financial Analyst
(778) 782-8472
debbie_schmaltz@sfu.ca
FAST, 3rd party journal integration, spreadsheet journals, Pension Plan Financial Statements, Statement of Financial Information, US Tax filing IRS990 & W8-BEN-E    
Albert Sennett 
Financial Analyst
(778) 782-4709
albert_sennett@sfu.ca
FAST, quarterly report Appendix C (AVED), month end, SFU Foundation, related entities    
Capital    
Kam Gill
Senior Financial Analyst
(778) 782-4726  
kamgill@sfu.ca
Capital project accounting: Funds 52 & 59    
Funds 13, 21, 23, 61 & 62
Shawn Li 
Financial Analyst
(778) 782-3757
shawn_li@sfu.ca
Charitable return, fund manager & chartfield governance of funds 13 & 21 projects.  Fund manager of funds 23, 61 & 62.  

Clarissa Berlian
Clerk
(778) 782-4020
Clarissa_Aurelia_Berlian@sfu.ca
Fund 13 & 21 administrative inquiries    
Banking, Accounts Receivable    
Alison Griffin
Financial Anyalst
(778) 782-7370
alison_griffin@sfu.ca
Manager banking & receivables
Chartfield governance fund 11 projects
Elizabeth Wei
Clerk
(778) 782-8503
elizabeth_wei@sfu.ca
Miscellaneous accounts receivable
Banking, main account reconciliation
Paper journal input    
Andy Cha
Clerk
(778) 782-4877
Il-Woo_Cha@sfu.ca
Banking, main account deposits
Petty cash
Electronic journal posting    
Signing Authority
Ida Luo 
Financial Analyst
(778) 782-8713

- Signing Authority Management (SAM)
- Signing authority system access
finauth@sfu.ca

- FINS and HAP department security tree maintenance
- Chartfield governance
·       Departments
·       Programs
ida_luo@sfu.ca

Payment Services

Hours:  Monday -Friday
              08:00-16:30
              Weekends & Holidays: Closed
tex_help@sfu.ca
Help Line: 778-782-7087
Travel and Expense Claims Assistance

payables@sfu.ca
Vendor and Supplier Assistance

Mary Aylesworth
Director, Financial Operations
(778) 782-3256
mary_aylesworth@sfu.ca
 
Sabina Diaconescu
Senior Manager
(778) 782-7255
sdiacone@sfu.ca

 

Commodity Tax Accounting and Queries (PST/GST/Non Resident Withholding Tax)

Lesley Dougans
Assistant Manager
(778) 782-4046
ldougans@sfu.ca
  • Employee Expense Claim Self Service Training
  • Employee Expense Claims Access
Marina Vesninskaya
AP Clerk (General Inquiries)
(778) 782-4647
marina_vesninskaya@sfu.ca
  • General Enquiries
  • Vendor/Supplier Payment
Pinar Kavak
AP Clerk (General Inquiries)
(778) 782-4766
pinar_kavak_2@sfu.ca
  • General Enquiries
  • Vendor/Supplier Payment
Lucia Negosu
AP Clerk
(778) 782-6631
lucia_negosu@sfu.ca
  • Expense Allocation Adjustments & Queries
Dora Ko
AP Clerk
(778) 782-7358
dora_ko@sfu.ca
  • Vendor/Supplier Registration
  • Non Resident Enquiries
  • Independent Contractors Payments
Cindy Bell
Employee General Inquiries
(778) 782-4299
cindyb@sfu.ca
  • Employee Claims General Enquiries
  • Wire Transfer Payments
Marlene Robertson
Data Entry
(778) 782-7120
robertso@sfu.ca
  • Employee Claims General Enquiries
Nesil Erhan
AP Clerk
(778) 782-4645
nesil_erhan@sfu.ca
  • Payment Processing (Cheque & EFT weekly runs)
  • Courier Payments
  • Vendor/Supplier General Enquiries

Procurement Services

Hours:  Monday -Friday
              08:00-16:30
              Weekends & Holidays: Closed
procurement@sfu.ca
General enquiries

SFU’s Procurement Services staff are trained professionals with expertise in supply management strategies and Canadian public procurement law. Each member of our team supports a portfolio of specific SFU faculties and departments. This approach allows us to be more familiar with your unique needs.

When necessary, your officer can help you comply with SFU's requirements for purchasing goods and services. They can also advise you on how to best obtain market information, assist you with competitive bidding processes, and help you draft supply and service contracts.

For general inquiries, please contact either Barb Mcllhiney or Jennifer Thibeault.

To find the officer assigned to your faculty or department, please consult the list below.

 

Mary Aylesworth
Director, Financial Operations
(778) 782-3256
mary_aylesworth@sfu.ca
 
Anny Chung
Major Purchasing Contracts Officer
(778) 782-4389
anny_chung@sfu.ca
  • Advancement & Alumni Engagement
  • Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Finance & Administration
  • Legal Affairs
  • Lifelong Learning
  • Residence & Housing
  • Safety & Security
  • Student Services
  • SFU International
  • Teaching & Learning Centre
Paul Dhaliwal
Major Purchasing Contracts Officer
(778) 782-6840
paul_dhaliwal@sfu.ca
  • Ancillary Services
  • Athletics
  • BC Campus
  • External Relations 
  • Faculty of Communications, Art & Technology (FCAT)
Jocelyn Lee
Buyer, Science Stores
(778) 782-3305
jocelynl@sfu.ca
  • Science Stores Inventory
  • Science supplies and equipment <$10,000
Lily Li
Major Purchasing Contracts Officer
(778) 782-4373
lily_li_3@sfu.ca
  • BC Net
  • Beedie School of Business
  • Electronic Libarary Network
  • Faculty of Applied Sciences
  • Faculty of Communications, Art & Technology
  • Faculty of Environment
  • Institutional Research & Planning
  • IT
  • Library Services
  • Office of the President
  • Office of the VP Academic
  • Office of the VP Research
Barb Mcllhiney
Procurement Services Assistant
(778) 782-4301
barbra_mcilhiney@sfu.ca
  • Administrative Support
  • Data Tracking / Reporting
  • General Procurement Support
  • PeopleSoft Support / Training
  • Procurement Records
  • Requisition Review & Distribution
  • Vendor Information
Lisa Mulschlegal
Procurement Services Assistant
(778) 782-4260
lisa_mulschlegel@sfu.ca
  • Administrative Support
  • Data Tracking / Reporting
  • General Procurement Support
  • PeopleSoft Support / Training
  • Procurement Records
  • Requisition Review & Distribution
  • Vendor Information
Laura Simonsen
Major Purchasing Contracts Officer
(778) 782-3295
laura_simonsen@sfu.ca
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Science
  • Research
  • Sustainability Office
  • Sustainable Procurement
Wells Song
Major Purchasing Contracts Officer
(778) 782-5997
wells_song@sfu.ca    
  • Facilities Services
Rita Narovlyansky
Procurement Programs Coordinator
(778) 782-4388
rita_narovlyansky@sfu.ca    
  • CCard Program Administration
  • Courier Services
  • Customs: Importing and Exporting
  • Data Tracking / Reporting
  • Monthly Financial Reporting
  • Travel Program Administration    
Jennifer Thibeault
Senior Buyer
(778) 782-4616
jennifer_thibeault@sfu.ca
  • Blanket Orders
  • Computers & Related equipment
  • Direct Purchase Orders
  • General PO Inquiries
  • Incidental Office Furnishings
  • Procurement PeopleSoft
  • PeopleSoft Workflow Implementation  Project

Payroll

Hours:  Monday -Friday
              08:00-16:30
              Weekends & Holidays: Closed

General enquiries
Requests for documents such as ROE, T4/T4A,
Employment Verification letters
Email: payroll@sfu.ca
Telephone: (778) 782-8486

Mary Aylesworth
Director, Financial Operations
(778) 782-3256
mary_aylesworth@sfu.ca
 
Rose Gonzales
Manager, Payroll Services
(778) 782-3770
rose_gonzales@sfu.ca
  • Requests for off cycle Manual Cheques
Michelle Bilalakis
Assistant Manager, Payroll Services
(778) 782-4093
mbilalak@sfu.ca
  • Information on Payroll Actuals or Encumbrance reporting.
Cynthia Lau
Business Analyst
(778) 782-4018
cla203@sfu.ca
  • Requests for HAP access
Fay Weir
Payroll Technician
(778) 782-9040
fay_weir@sfu.ca
  • TSSU Appointments – all departments except FASS and Sciences.
  • Additional Pay, Dues, Garnishments
Sharon Assumption
Faculty - Payroll Advisor
(778) 782-3236
sharon_assumption@sfu.ca
  • Faculty Payroll Inquiries
  • Overload Teaching Contract (OTC) and Lecturer Appointments
Juliet de Pieri
Payroll Advisor
(778) 782-3002
jdepieri@sfu.ca
  • Benefit Deduction inquiries
  • Benefit Prepayment and Reconciliation
Gary Chow
Payroll Advisor
(778) 782-6567
kcchow@sfu.ca
  • TSSU Appointments – FASS and Sciences
  • Payroll  Appointment Forms (PAF) – Last Name K-T 
Katherine Blight
Payroll Advisor
(778) 782-8486
kblight@sfu.ca
  • Payroll Appointment Forms ( PAF) - Last Name U-Z
Lyubov Golovetska
Payroll Advisor
(778) 782-4839
lgolovet@sfu.ca
  • Payroll Appointment Forms ( PAF) - Last Name A-J
Helen Zhang
Payroll Advisor                   
(778)782-9276
hza103@sfu.ca
  • Payroll Appointment Forms (PAF) - Immigration Compliance 

Treasury

Hours:  Monday -Friday
              08:00-16:30
              Weekends & Holidays: Closed
treasury@sfu.ca

 

Jacky Shen
Director, Treasury
(778) 782-4017
jack_shen@sfu.ca
  • Information on PCI Data Standards; investment policies; endowment and non-endowment investments; banking  relationships
John Pierce
Assistant Treasurer
(778) 782-4008
jdpierce@sfu.ca
  • Information on exchange rates; negotiation of currency hedge arrangements; PayPal accounts
Mary Jiang
Clerk
(778) 782-7042
mary_jiang@sfu.ca    
 
Anna Liu
Treasury Analyst
(778) 782-7246
xiaoning_liu@sfu.ca@sfu.ca
 

 

Research Accounting

Mailing Address:
Simon Fraser University
Research Accounting
Room 210
Discovery 2
8888 University Drive
Burnaby, BC
V5A 1S6

 

Courier/Visitor:


Room 210
Discovery 2
8900 Nelson Way
Burnaby, BC
V5A 4W9

Hours:  Monday -Friday
              08:00-16:30
              Weekends & Holidays: Closed
res-acct@sfu.ca

Leeann Liew           
Manager
(778) 782-8092
lhliew@sfu.ca
 
Claudia Faria
Supervisor
(778) 782-4707
claudia_faria@sfu.ca
 
Chris Claiter
Project Accountant 
(778) 782-4019
cclaiter@sfu.ca
  • CFI (excluding CFI funded through other institutions), CPAC, CANARIE, NIH
  • Fund 31: 523XXX, 593XXX, 599136-599137, 569240-569242, 569244-569245, 591016, 864XXX
  • Fund 35: 365XXX
  • Fund 36: 36XXXX, EXCLUDING 364XXX and 365XXX
Deanna Dolhanty
Financial Administrator
(778) 782-3411
ddolhant@sfu.ca
  • SSHRC, Federal or Provincial Government research grants, TRIUMF, research grants from other universities, Endowment funded and Interfund Transfer research grants
 
  • Fund 31: 63XXXX, 640XXX, 729XXX, 74XXXX, 75XXXX, 78XXXX
  • Fund 32: 693XXX
Amy Lam
Project Accountant
(778) 782-5908
alamh@sfu.ca
  • Research contracts⁄agreements excluding major research contracts/agreements, industrial research grants/contracts, other research grants
  • Fund 31: 5XXXXX,  531009-531011, 77XXXX, 869XXX
  • EXCLUDE: 521XXX, 562XXX, 572XXX, 573XXX, 591XXX, 592XXX
Moses Lo
Project Accountant
(778) 782-4495
htlo@sfu.ca
  • CFI funded through other institutions, Major research contracts⁄agreements, Genome
  • Fund 31: 521XXX, 531001-531004, 531012 and higher, 562XXX, 572XXX, 573XXX, 591XXX, 592XXX
  • Fund 32:  695XXX
  • Fund 35: 364XXX
  • Fund 36: 364XXX
Vivian Poon
Project Accountant
(778) 782-8978
vtpoon@sfu.ca
  • Externally restricted non-research contributions
  • Fund 25: 1XXXXX
Amelia Shu
Financial Administrator
(778) 782-4875
amelias@sfu.ca
  • NSERC research non-collaborative programs
  • Fund 31: 611XXX, 6194XX, 6195XX
Kam Gill
Financial Administrator
(778) 782-9734
kkg11@sfu.ca
  • NSERC collaborative grants and all CIHR grants
  • Fund 31: 612XXX-6193XX, 711XXX
Sandy Kwan
Financial Administrator
(778) 782-3053
skwanesp@sfu.ca
  • PICS, Heart & Stroke Foundation, NCEs, MITACS, BCIC, C150, CRC, MSFHR, Stem Cell Network, Provincial research grants,
  • Fund 31: 641XXX, 65XXXX, 669XXX, 67XXXX, 681XXX, 719XXX, 724XXX,73XXXX, 76XXXX

Planning & Analysis

Hours:  Monday -Friday
              08:00-16:30
              Weekends & Holidays: Closed
planning_analysis@sfu.ca

Scott Penney
Director, Planning Analysis
(778) 782-7513
scott_penney@sfu.ca
  • Strategic planning and alignment; qualitative and quantitative analysis; strategic communications; risk management

Jonathan Duffin
Planning Analyst
(778) 782-9666
jonathan_duffin@sfu.ca
  • Qualitative and quantitative analysis; University Priority Fund applications / progress reports; performance metrics (KPIs); strategic alignment; strategic communications

Budget

Hours:  Monday -Friday
              08:00-16:30
              Weekends & Holidays: Closed

budgethelp@sfu.ca
Help line (778) 782 -5263

Position Current Contact Current Client Services
Director Janis Kennedy
(778) 782-3233
janis_kennedy@sfu.ca

For inquiries related to:

•  Overall University budgetary processes
•  Overall delivery of client services 

Senior Financial Analyst,
Central Support Services
Susie Lee
(778) 782-6974
ssglee@sfu.ca

For inquiries related to:

•  Fiscal management of University priority Fund
•  Tuition revenue projections & analysis

Senior Financial Analyst,
Central Support Services
Audrey Hamade
(778) 782-2542
audrey_hamade@sfu.ca

For inquiries related to:

•  Submission to Budget review Committee
•  Project savings process
•  GUR (Contingency) Funding Transfers

Senior Financial Analyst,
Central Support Services
Sally Huang
(778) 782-2561
sally_huang_2@sfu.ca

For inquiries related to:

•  Financial support for VPFA portfolio
•  Client-based analysis and support

Manager, Budget Operations Amarjit Garcha
(778) 782-4321
amarjit_garcha@sfu.ca

For inquiries related to:

•  Quarterly Budget-Actual Variance Analysis Report
•  Hyperion Planning system & annual budget processes

Budget Systems Analyst,
Budget Operations

Peyman Abedi-Rad
(778) 782-7359
peyman_abedi-rad@sfu.ca

For inquiries related to:

•  Hyperion Planning security
•  Hyperion Planning data

Budget Analyst,
Budget Operations
Nancy Geng
(778) 782-7262
nancy_geng@sfu.ca

For inquiries related to:

•  Budget and Hyperion Planning Training
•  FTE Reports
•  Operating Carry Forward processes
•  Budget Transfers (BTs)

General Help (778) 782-5263
budgethelp@sfu.ca
 

For inquiries related to:

•  General budget processes & requirements

SFU Business #11852 0725 RT0001

If you need assistance, visit Contact Us or email finance@sfu.ca