Kavanagh Lab Location:
South Campus Dr. West Wing,
TASC II Rm 7040

Lab Phone: 778-782-4082

Mail Address:
Dept. Physics
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Dr.
Burnaby, BC
V5A 1S6 Canada

Alumni

Name Group Position Where are they now (if known) Email
Mingze (Alex) Yang 2021 PhD
SFU Research Assoc. mingzey@sfu.ca
Carlo Clores Physics Adoptee SFU undergraduate cclores@sfu.ca
Dr. Mpumelelo Matse Post-Doctoral Fellow heading to Germany
mpumelelo_matse@sfu.ca
Christoph Herrmann 2020 PhD
Systems for Research
cherrman@sfu.ca
Jason Ding UG Research Assistant Undergraduates, SFU Physics jason_ding_3@sfu.ca
Cristina Cordoba 2020 PhD PDF, Advanced Microscopy Facility, U. Victoria
ccordoba@sfu.ca
Farzah Nasiripouri Visiting Professor Professor, Sahand University, Tabriz, Iran f_nasirpouri@yahoo.com
William Xue
Adoptee Undergraduate, SFU Physics xue.william@yahoo.com
Tess King
Undergraduate Research Asst.
Co-op Student Teck Resources
tesskking@gmail.com
Shima Alagha 2017 PhD Solar Earth Technologies salagha@sfu.ca
Milica Nicolic Exchange Student
U. of Belgrade
milican@sfu.ca
Dong Chul
Korean Intern   hmyoon93@kunsan.ac.kr
Symphony Huang
Undergraduate Research Asst. Graduate Student, McMaster U. huanh35@mcmaster.ca
Jerry Jiaming Wang
Undergraduate Research Asst. McMaster U., MSc. Physics jiaming.wang@mail.utoronto.ca
Karin Leistner Visiting Scientist
Professor, Technical University Chemnitz
karin.leistner@tuchemnitz.de
Pramodh Yapa Undergraduate Research Asst.
U. Alberta, PhD. Physics pramodh.sy@gmail.ca
Adrien Michel
Visiting Student
adrien_valentin_michel@hotmail.fr U. Bourgogne, Dijon
Xiaodan Liu
Visiting Scientist
  Hangzhou Aerospace
Yule Wang M.Sc. 2015 PhD. SFU
yulew@sfu.ca
Aline Rodrigues Visiting Student Spring 2015 Brazil novaisaline12@gmail.com
Donna Hohertz 2014 PhD. Photonics Eng., Novadaq  
Azadeh Akhtari-Zavareh 2014 PhD. Data Analysis, Toronto
 
Etienne Dreyer Summer 2014 RA PhD. SFU
etienne.dreyer@sfu.ca
Jesse Velay-Vitow Summer 2014 RA Graduate student  
Alex Sachkov Summer 2014 RA SFU UG Computer Eng    
Charlotte Mangin Visiting Student Diplome U. Bourgogne cha.mangin@gmail.com
Brent Stoeckel Fall 2013 RA SFU UG Physics  
Sarmita Majumder 2013 PhD. Res. Assoc., U. Texas Austin sarmita@utexas.edu
Gianmarco Spiga 2012 BASc. Eng. Physics Lumerical, Vancouver  
Bijun Wang 2012 IAESTE Trainee Shanghai Johnson & Johnson Pharma
cutejoey@qq.com
Van Stonehouse 2012 UG Research Assistant SFU UG Mechatronics Electrical Engineer, IEDAC USA LLC, Nevada
James McNeil 2012 UG Research Assistant Graduate Student, UBC Physics
jmcneil@triumf.ca
Teresa Cheung 2012 PhD.
Research Prof. SFU Surrey
tpc5@sfu.ca
Chao Liu 2011 MSc.
HiNeon, Vancouver
luyfco@gmail.com
Dichen Li 2011 MSc.
Graduate student US  
Thomas Wintschel
2011 UG RA SFU Physics UG  
Jin Anderson 2010 IAESTE Trainee Denmark
Graduate student, Danish Technical U.  
Romain_Dellemme 2010 UG RA
Engineering Student France  
Allison Radich
2010 UG RA
PhD U. Guelph  
Wenjie Li 2009 PhD.
Shenzhen Institute of Advanced Integration Technology  
Sean Lee 2009 UG RA Display Engineer, Samsung, Korea
 
Florian Abbet 2009 UG RA Master of engeneering, EPFL (Switzerland) florian.abbet@gmail.com
Jon Bratvold 2008 IAESTE Trainee Norway PhD 2019 U. Oslo  
Andrew Inwood 2008 UG RA
SFU Economics UG
 
Gianmarco Spiga 2008 UG Co-op
Lumerical Inc., Vancouver
 
Dr. Darija Susac 2007-8 PDF
Prof. U. Cape Town, South Africa
 
Mateusz Maciejewski 2007 IAESTE Trainee Scotland
Associate Director, Pfizer Inc., MA matt@mattmaciejewski.com
Kyle Huffman 2007 UG RA
SFU Eng. Science  
Savanna Shaw 2007 UG RA PDF Assoc. U. Manchester, UK
savanna.marie.shaw@cern.ch
Nauman Methani 2007 UG RA SFU Chemistry  
Samantha Grist 2007 UG RA PDF UC Berkeley
samantha.m.grist@gmail.com
Mark Xu 2007 UG RA Medical Physicist
 
Dr. Ruijin Hong PDF 2006-7 Assoc. Prof. Jiangxi U. of Science and Technology rjhoncn@163.com
Bob Z. L. Bao 2006 PhD. Grakon LLC, Seattle
zlbaoy@gmail.com
Eric Jensen 2006 IAESTE Trainee Denmark Engineer, Knowles Corp, Denmark
ericjensen1@gmail.com
John Berring 2006 UG RA Cell Design Eng, Unilia, Vancouver
 
Louis Cheng 2006 UG RA SFU Phys.  
Pawan Sandhu 2006 UG RA Quantitative Analyst, GMP Securities  
Francois Castonguey 2006 UG RA McGill Physics  
Yan Zhang 2006 MASc. HiNeon, Vancouver  
Dr. Yiqian Wang PDF 2005 Prof. Qingdao University, China yqwang1013@yahoo.com.cn
Dr. Li Yang PDF 2003-04 U. Sask Microscopy Facility
liy@sfu.ca
Wenhui Sui 2003-04 PhD student    
Dr. Jun-Ho Choy PDF 2004-06 Staff Engineer, Mentor Graphics, CA
Jun-Ho.Choy@ponte.com
Henry Lamen 2002-03 PhD student    
Mahshid Karimi 2005 MSc. Ph.D.  ECE UBC mahshid50@gmail.com
Jason Riordon 2004 UG RA Research Assoc. U. Toronto

 

Antoine Letendre 2004 UG RA

Geotechnical Engineer, Thurber Engineering Ltd, Victoria

 
Dr. Alexey Koveshnikov PDF 2001-03 Scientist, TRIUMF akovesh@triumf.ca
Brian Leathem 2004 MSc. Software Eng., Red Hat
 
Dr. Jinqiang Liu PDF 2002-04 TEM Specialist, TechInsights, Ottawa
 
Victoria Chen 2002 UG RA SFU UG Eng. Sci.  
Aron Mckinnon 2001-03 UG RA BASc. 2014 SFU
 
Dr. Victoria Fink PDF 2000-02 moved to Waterloo Sept 2016
 
Nick Cowan 2002 UG RA Asst. Prof. McGill  
Robin Prest 2002 UG RA Project Manager, AMBiT Consulting Inc  
Nasim Morawej 2002 UG RA Project Engineer, Natl. Oilwell Varco nasimmon@gmail.com
Eric Chen 2001 UG RA Science and Math Teacher  
Dr. Adil Chahboun 2001-02 Prof. Physics, FST Tangiers, Morocco  
Ryan Lu 2002 PhD. Manager Internal R&D Programs
SPAWARSYSCEN Pacific
 
Donna Hohertz 2001 UG RA Photonics Eng. Novadaq
 
Rob Eakin 2001 UG RA Math and Science Teacher  
Yasaman Mohammadi 2001 UG RA Singapore  
Erica Chevalier 2001 UG RA    
Mike Fleischauer 2001 UG RA Res. Officer NRC-NINT Michael.Fleischauer@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Marlene Jeffries 2001 UG RA Oceanographer, C. Hydrigraphic Service
 
Brent Morgan 1999 PhD. Scientist Aerospace Corp. brent.a.morgan@aero.org
Ken Ring 1999 PhD. First Solar, Ohio

kring_3@hotmail.com

Warren McArthur 1999 PhD. Towerjazz, Newport Beach, CA
 
Wadad Dubbelday 1998 PhD. SSC-SD Coordinator, US Navy, San Diego  
Phil Larrabure PhD. student N2 Imaging Systems, Irvine, CA
 
Mike Smith 1999 MSc.
Micron, Idaho masmith@micron.com
Rachel Goldman 1995 PhD.
Prof. U. Michigan rsgold@umich.edu
Jessica Chang 1993 PhD.
   
Patrick M. Sullivan 1991 MSc. Executive Director
Program Executive Office for Command, SSC-Pacific, San Diego